Society of American Archivists'
Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable

   
 

Introduction

Canada

Nova Scotia
Ontario
Quebec
Saskatchewan

United States

California
Connecticut
Colorado
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Nevada
New Jersey
New York
North Carolina
Ohio
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
Texas
Washington
Wisconsin

Appendix A

Repository Name Index

Add or Update Repository information


 

Lavender Legacies Guide

WISCONSIN

Department of Special Collections and University Archives
Marquette University Libraries
1327 W. Wisconsin Ave.
P.O. Box 3141
Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: (414) 288-7256
Fax: (414) 288-6709
Contact: Phil Runkel, Archivist
E-mail: Phil.Runkel@marquette.edu
Internet address: http://www.marquette.edu/library/collections/archives/index.html
Hours: Mon-Fri 8am-5pm., other times by appointment.
Wheelchair access: yes

Information about holdings:
New Ways Ministry Records (1965-[ongoing], bulk 1977-1996),
26.2 cubic ft. plus unprocessed additions. Records of a "ministry of education, justice, and reconciliation" for lesbian and gay Catholics, founded in 1977 by Jeannine Gramick, S.S.N.D. and Robert Nugent, S.D.S, including publications, subject files, and records of seminars, symposia, workshops, and retreats.

Rev. Robert Nugent Papers (1963-[ongoing], bulk 1985-1996),
5.3 cubic ft. plus unprocessed additions. Manuscripts, publications, and speaking engagement and subject files documenting Father Nugent's ministry to gay and lesbian Catholics.

Collecting interests:
Marquette solicits nationally records and personal papers documenting the involvement of Catholic organizations, movements, and individuals in promoting social action and social change in areas such as the following: interracial justice, fundamental economic reform, low-cost corporate responsibility, prison and penal system reform, women's rights, minority rights, gay and lesbian rights, agrarian reform, nuclear and conventional weapons disarmament, internationalpeace, draft resistance, and support for conscientious objectors. In addition to promoting change within society as a whole, many groups and individuals are vocal advocates for basic changes in the practices and structures of the Catholic Church.

Use requirements:
Holdings are available for public use, subject to some restrictions placed by offices and donors. Researchers sign a registration form that includes an agreement to abide by rules governing use.
Services:
Research space, reference assistance, copying services, telephone reference, audiovisual facilities, Internet reference.
Indices, finding aids, collection guides:
MARC records in OCLC and MU Libraries online catalog. Descriptive inventories to these collections are available, but not yet online.

Wisconsin State Historical Society
Location: 816 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608) 264-6460
Contact: Reference archivist
E-mail: archref@whs.wisc.edu
Internet address:   http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/archives/index.html
Holdings summary
Black and White Men Together, Milwaukee, 2.2 cubic ft.
David E. Clarenbach papers (1974-1992), 7.4 cubic ft. (reflected in the papers is Clarenbach's interest in areas for which he became well known, including AIDS legislation, gay rights, women's issues, and divestiture of state funds in South Africa)
Emergency Committee to Defend the Human and Legal Rights of Political Prisoners (1985-1991), 2.4 cubic ft. (documents the revolutionary network, especially the women's and radical lesbian part of it)
Gay Madison, .2 cubic ft.
The making of walls to roses, 1979 (tape recording re: men's collective interest in gay liberation, other causes)
Terry Murphy papers (1976-1977, 1980), .1 cubic ft. (clippings related to gay activism)
National Coalition of Gay Sexually Transmitted Disease Services records (1985-1990), .4 cubic ft.
Kathleen Nichols and Barbara Constans papers (1975-1979), .2 cubic ft. (partial records of the Madison Committee for Gay Rights)
The United (Madison, Wis.) records (1977-1981) (organized in May 1978 as Madison Gay Men and Lesbians United)
Gore Vidal papers (1888-1994), 60.8 cubic ft. (subject headings include: Ben Hur, homosexuality, Is Paris Burning?, Suddenly Last Summer, Tennessee Williams)
Women's Service Center of Brown County (Wis.) records (1974-1986), .1 cubic ft. (information on lesbian rights)
Allen Young papers (1962-1994) (gay liberation writer and activist; subject headings include: Homosexuality, The gay report, Allen Ginsberg, and Lavender culture: visions of lesbians and gay men)
Collecting interests:
Mass communication, film and theater research, social action collections, public records of state and local government, maps, labor, broadcasting.
Use requirements
[None noted.]
Services
Research space, copying, reference assistance on site, and telephone reference.

University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee Archives Department
Address: University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee Libraries P.O. Box 604 Milwaukee, WI, 53201-0604 Website
URL: http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/arch/
Phone: 414-229-5402
Founder: In addition to serving as the official archives of our parent institution, the Archives Department has an active manuscripts collecting program.
Name of Submitter: Michael Doylen, Archives Department Head Email of Submitter: doylenm@uwm.edu Extent of Manuscripts:
Summary of Lesbian/Gay Content: The collections provide a unique perspective on the formation of a publicly visible gay and lesbian community in the metropolitan Milwaukee area mainly from the 1970s to the present day. The collections are especially strong in the areas of politics and social activism, media, health, and social organizations. Highlights include: the records of ACT UP Milwaukee, Bi Definition, Brady East STD Clinic, Cream City Business Association, Cream City Foundation, Human Rights League, Lambda Rights Network, the Milwaukee Gay/Lesbian Cable Network, and the personal papers of local activitists Ralph Navarro, Donna Utke, and Miriam Ben-Shalom.
Growth of Collection: The Archives continues to collect actively in this area, with special emphasis on social activism, health (HIV/AIDS), and media.
Access Requirements: All holdings are accessible to the general public, excepting those restricted by federal and state law or university policy, for preservation or privacy reasons, or as a condition of gift established by a donor.
Access Differences of Non-LGBT Materials: No.
Access Hours: We are open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. When classes are in session, we have evening hours on Wednesdays and Thursdays until 8 p.m.
Wheelchair Access: Yes.
Research Space: Yes.
Reference Assistance: Yes.
Reference by Telephone: General information about holdings, hours, etc.
Reference via Internet: Submit requests to http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/arch/askarch.html
Duplication Services: Yes.
Audiovisual Services: Yes.
Exhibition Loans: Selectively.
Borrowing Policy: Ask an archivist for details.
Finding Aids / Indices: The Archives creates online finding aids and MARC records (uploaded into OCLC) for all of its holdings.
Updates: A current list of all LGBT collections is on the Archives' Web site at http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/arch/lgbt.htm

 

 
Society of American Archivists2007-03-03->