TEXAS
Archives
of the Episcopal Church
Location: 606 Ratherview Place
Austin, TX 78705
Address: PO Box 2247
Austin, TX 78768
Phone: (512) 472-6816 Fax: (512) 480-0437
Contact: Mark J. Duffy, Director
Email: research@episcopalarchives.org
Internet address: http://episcopalarchives.org
Hours: 9:00 AM - 4:45 PM, M - F, please call for an appointment
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Integrity, Inc. Collection, the National Steering Committee for Human Sexuality
Dialogues: Human Sexuality Survey Questionnaires Collection, and records of
the National AIDS Memorial, Inc. are part of the larger Archives of the Episcopal
Church.
Information about holdings
Organizational records: 32 cubic ft.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
National coverage, 1974 - 1995.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Integrity, Inc. Collection, 14 cubic ft.; National Steering Committee for
Human Sexuality Dialogues: Human Sexuality Survey Questionnaires Collection
(NSCHSD:HSSQ), 16 cubic ft.; records of the National AIDS Memorial, Inc. (NAM,
Inc.), 2 cubic ft.
Collecting interests
Mission Statement, Nov. 4, 1993, ". . .records created by and about the Episcopal
Church, related Anglican bodies, and individual Episcopalians. . ."
Use requirements
See comments below.
Comments about
access/use:
The archives' policy is as follows. Open records: material dating from more
than 30 years ago and in good physical condition and that do not have specific
restrictions. Confidential records: material dating from the past 80 years that
includes personnel records or documents containing sensitive information. Restricted
records: material dating from the past 30 years that includes privileged communications
of the creating church agency. Such material may be restricted beyond 30 years;
special access may be granted when release of the information serves an essential
public interest or a vital personal need.
[The collections described above all date from the past 30 years and therefore
are not yet open records. Check with the archivist regarding use.]
Collecting areas: Records of prominent Episcopal organizations and individuals
involved in LGBT ministry, and issues of full recognition.
Services
Research space, copying, reference assistance on site, and telephone reference.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Computer database of collection holdings available for staff use only.
News about collections
The archives is developing a newsletter that will occasionally feature articles
on recent accessions.
Charles Botts Memorial Archives
Address:Resurrection Metroploitan Community Church
2025 West 11th
Houston, TX 77008
Phone: (713) 861-9149
Contact: Ralph Lasher
Email: mccr@airmail.net
Internet address: http://www.resurrectionmcc.org
Collecting areas: Wealth of gay and lesbian literature dating back to the 19th
century and a large collection of letters, brochures, clippings, books, periodicals,
and newspapers from and about the GLBT community in Houston and throughout the
world.
Gulf
Coast Archives and Museum of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender History,
Inc.
Address: P.O. Box 130192
Houston, TX 77219-0192
Phone: (713)
227-5973 (chair)
E-mail: info@gcam.org
Internet address:http://www.gcam.org
History: The Han-Net (a Houston area activist network) archives show
that on June 3, 1999, Rick Hurt stated: "Montrose includes the Museum District.
Where is the Gay (glbtf) Museum?" From that one comment began a discussion
about why there was not one, and on July 17, 1999, 13 people came together in
a small meeting room at the Montrose Public Library and so began the seed that
would become GCAM. GCAM was incorporated in Texas as a non-profit corporation
on October 14, 1999, and received its 501-c-3 letter from the IRS in May 2000,
dated retroactively to October 14, 1999.
Mission Statement: Gulf Coast Archive and Museum of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual
and Transgender History, Inc. was created to collect, preserve and provide access
to historical items from the glbt community. The archive shall encourage education
of and research by anyone (regardless of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation,
age or religion), interested in learning about any aspects of the glbt community.
The museum shall sponsor meetings for the communication and display of collected
materials.
Bylaws:see
http://www.gcam.org/bylaws.pdf
Information about Holdings:
Approximately 200 standard boxes of periodicals, including the nearly complete
copies of "This Week in Texas", the "Houston/Montrose Voice",
"OutSmart" and "Rita!". The collections also contain various
copies of "The Advocate", the "Bay Area Reporter", the "Washington
Blade". Additionally, there are bound volumes of thirteen years of "This
Week in Texas" and a complete bound set of "The Letter", including
index. There are about 400 books on glbt topics. There are another 20+ boxes
containing various erotica magazines. There are 4 boxes of photographs covering
various times in the Houston area.
The museum owns several dresses (beaded/rhinestone/feathers) and several costumes
and costume pieces from various organizations and various times. There is also
a t-shirt collection of 200-300 including the majority of Houston Pride t-shirts
and many other special events from the Houston area, as well as around the country.
The majority of the collections are from the Houston/Gulf Coast region, primarily
since 1970.
Collection Growth: GCAM collections continue to grow from all walks of
glbt life around the globe, with a special emphasis on the Gulf Coast region
of the United States. No collection is too small or too large to be salvaged.
Our collections currently include everything from ink pens to beaded dresses
and large costume pieces to personal letters and memorabilia (not to mention
a certain double-headed hand-carved wooden sexual apparatus).
Access and Use: Currently the museum and archives are open to the public
on Thursday evenings from 6-9 p.m. and Saturday afternoons from noon to 6 p.m.
and at other times by appointment (713-227-5973). Although there is no charge
for the use of the museum or archive, we request acknowledgement in published
materials (using our archives as a research tool) and we do accept donations.
The site is on the ground floor and is somewhat wheelchair accessible. We request
that someone making plans to do research contact us as much in advance as possible
with a basic list of their research plans.
Services: Given time to prepare, there may be research space and some
reference assistance on site. We currently have no copying services. Telephone
reference may be possible depending on the scope of the request - although the
telephone and archive are in different physical locations (e-mail might be better).
We have a VCR/TV unit for some of the available VCR (VHS) tapes. We laso have
a cd and cassette player. We have planned a photography project which will be
available on the internet. We are willing to consider Exhibition loan agreements.
We currently have no borrowing privileges for individuals.
Indices: Currently
we are in the process of cataloging our collections. When complete, they will
be available on our website.
Happy
Foundation
Address: c/o Gene Wesley Elder
411 Bonham Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone: (210) 227-6451
Contact: Gene Wesley Elder
Hours: By appointment only.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Gene Elder founded collection in 1988. There was no predecessor. Mission statement:
"The archives is dedicated to furthering the intellectual and artistic awareness
in the gayBLT [sic] community."
Information about holdings
Organizational records: yes
Printed material: yes
Clippings/vertical files: yes
Objects/ephemera: yes
Film/Video/Sound: yes
Photographs: yes
Other holdings/notes: none
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
1969 to present, Texas and U.S.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
The Happy Foundation collects everything but has a special interest in art.
Collecting interests
Texas LGBT history
Use requirements
Call for appointment.
Services
Research space, copying, exhibitions, and telephone reference.
Phil Johnson
Historic Archives and Research Library
and Research Center
Location: 2701 Reagan St.
Dallas, TX 75219-0869
Address: PO Box 190869
Dallas, TX 75219-0869
Phone: 214-540-4451
Contact: Shedrick Pittman-Hassett, MLS
Email: library@rcdallas.org
Internet address:
Hours: 10:00/10:30 am - 6:00/6:30 pm (M-F), 10-2 (Saturday) or by appointment
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Phil Johnson Historic Archives and Research Library began as a few binders of newspaper clippings and assorted book donations pertaiing to GLBT and AIDS issues. A permanent home for the library was established in 1994 during the the renovation of Dallas' Gay & Lesbian Community Center. In 1995 the library was named honoring Phil Johnson, a local gay historian and activist.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: approx. 5 masters theses
Organizational records: one or two organizations (ca.1 ft.)
Printed material: Over 7000 monographic titles and over 40 journal titles
Clippings/vertical files: small amount
Objects/ephemera: Over 50 flags, t-shirts, buttons, etc.
Film/Video/Sound: Over 800 VHS holdings and nearly 100 DVD holdings. Small audio collection
Photographs: over 200 images, primarily pertaining to the Resource Center of Dallas.
Microfilm: none
Other holdings/notes: none
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
WW II to present; mostly Dallas area, but some items from Texas and the rest
of the U.S.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Don Baker, PHil Johnson, and John Thomas; records of the Circle of Friends, Dallas' first homophile organization; pride marches are documented along with court cases; journals include "This Week in Texas" (TWIT), Advocate, and Dallas Voice
Collecting interests
Largest GLBT literary collection in north Texas with over 7,000 monographic titles. Most of the materials are GLBT-oriented with a significant portion related to AIDS/HIV issues. The library maintains over 40 periodical subscriptions with over half dealing with HIV/AIDS-related issues. The library also subscribes to the EBSCOHost LGBT Life full-text database.
Use requirements
Completed card application with presentation of photo ID and proof of current address. Journals/Reference/Archive materials only available on-site.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and borrowing privileges
for individuals.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Online catalog (www.libraryworld.com/opac Username: Phil Johnson Library). Records in MARC format.
News about collections
The Gay & Lesbian Community Center publishes a newsletter in which archives/library
information periodically appears.
Resource Center of Dallas
Address: 2701 Reagan
Dallas, TX 75219
Phone: (214) 540-4451
Contact: Nicole Pool, Librarian
Email: library@resourcecenterdallas.org
Internet address: http://www.resourcecenterdallas.org
Collecting areas: The library has about 5,000 monographic titles which are
predominately gay and lesbian oriented. There are some archival materials which
might be of historical interest to the gay and lesbian community for North Texas,
but the material is not cataloged or organized in any sytematic way.
University of Texas at Austin
Address: Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center
Office of Research Librarian
P.O. Box 7219
Austin, TX 78713
Phone: (512) 471-9119
Contact: Tara Wenger
Email: reference@hrc.utexas.edu
Internet address: http://www.hrc.utexas.edu
Collecting areas: The Ransom Center collects British, French, and American
literary manuscripts. A few collections of note are Radclyffe Hall and Oscar
Wilde.
University
of Texas at San Antonio
Location: Archives for Research on Women and Gender Project
Special Collections and Archives Department
801 South Bowie St.
San Antonio, TX 78205-3296
Phone: (210) 458-2381 Fax: (210) 458-2386
Contact: Archivist
Email: archives@utsa.edu
Internet address: http://www.lib.utsa.edu/Archives
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 4: 30 pm, by appointment only. Hours may
change; please inquire.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Archives for Research on Women and Gender was begun in 1992 to collect,
preserve and make available for research primary source materials related
to women and gender in Texas. A goal for the archives is for the holdings
to represent the diversity of South Texas, including ethnicity, sexual orientation,
gender, economic means, and social status.
Holdings summary
Cynthia and Linda Phillips papers (8 ft.). The Phillips are a transgender
couple and gender movement activists who are coordinators of the Boulton &
Park Society in San Antonio and founders of the Texas "T" Party. Materials
focus on education about and civil rights for transgender persons. The collection
includes printed material from the International Conference on Transgender
Law and Employment Policy.
Texas Lesbian Conference (1 ft.). Primarily printed materials and organizing
records from the annual conferences, which began in the late 1980s and are
held in San Antonio.
WomanSpace (.5 ft.). The longest continuously published women's community
newsletter in San Antonio, 1988 - present.
Collecting interests
The archives is actively collecting materials related to women and gender
in South Texas. Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons and organizations
are included in this collecting focus. We do not accept textiles, paintings,
or monotypes in oil or any other media, or large artifacts that require specialized
housing. We are best equipped to preserve paper and photographic media, and
small ephemera items.
Use requirements
Researchers must agree to follow the rules of the archives and provide a form
of ID.
Services
Research space, copying, reference assistance on site, telephone reference,
and Internet reference (email/web).
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
The collections described above are not yet processed (as of August 1997).
When processed, there will be a full finding aid (folder-level description,
brief bio/history, and scope and content) available on the Internet and in
print. All processed collections are also cataloged in the UTSA Library's
on-line catalog (UCAT) and OCLC.
News about collections
New information is available on our web site. Irregular announcements are
made in journals, newsletters, and listservs.
Woman's
Collection
Address: Blagg/Huey Library
Texas Woman's University
PO Box 425528
Denton, TX 76204-5528
Phone: (940) 898-3754
Contact: Dawn Letson
Email: womansc@twu.edu
Internet address: http://www.twu.edu/library
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Woman's Collection was established in 1932 at the suggestion of one of
the university's presidents. Since then, the collection has grown into one
of the nation's major collections on the history of women.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 1 collection (14 cubic ft.)
Organizational records: 1 collection (15 cubic ft.)
Printed material: 73 journals; 300 books.
Clippings/vertical files: 5 files
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
20th Century; Texas women only.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Texas Gay/Lesbian Task Force: see guide, record number A95.380. Keys, Kay
Elaine (1947- ): see guide, record number A91.129.
Collecting interests
Texas women and Texas women's organizations only.
Use requirements
Open to researchers.
Comments about
access/use:
A large number of books are available on Interlibrary loan; all other materials
must be used in the library's reading room
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), loan agreements for exhibits,
and borrowing privileges for individuals.
[Return to Top]