PENNSYLVANIA
The
Andy Warhol Museum
Location: 117 Sandusky Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone: (412) 237-8300 Fax: (412) 237-8340
Contact: John W. Smith
Internet address: http://www.clpgh.org/warhol/archives
Hours: By appointment.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Andy Warhol Museum, one of the Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, was founded
in 1989 as a joint venture among the Carnegie Institute of Pittsburgh, The
Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, and the Dia Center for the Arts.
The Warhol Museum, which opened to the public in May 1994, is administered
by the Carnegie Institute.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 1,500 ft.
Printed material: 100 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 50 scrapbooks
Film/Video/Sound: 4,000 items
Photographs: approx. 10,000
Microfilm: Interview magazine
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
The collection's main concentration is material, ca.1950-1987. The collection
is international in scope but focuses on New York City.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Andy Warhol, New York art world, 1960-1980s; Interview magazine.
Use requirements
Open to the public.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Item level inventories exist for the processed part of the collection, but have
not been put in a searchable database.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual
and Transgender Library/Archives of Philadelphia
Address: William Way LGBT Community Center
1315 Spruce St.
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone: (215) 732-2220
Email: williamwaylibrary@yahoo.com
Internet address: http://www.waygay.org
Collecting areas: The Library/Archives collects publications, organizational
and personal papers, business records, audiovisual materials, and ephemera created
by, dealing with, or of special interest to gay men, lesbians, bisexual men
and women, and transgender individuals. As a secondary focus, it collects selected
works about feminism and feminist organizations. our collection includes materials
from around the world.
Temple University Libraries
Address: 1210 W. Berks Street
Philadelphia, PA
19122-6088
Phone: (215)
204-8230 Fax: (215) 204-5201
Contact:
Thomas M. Whitehead
E-mail:thomas.whitehead@temple.edu
Contact: Dean of University Libraries Larry Alford
E-mail:larry.alford@temple.edu
Internet address:
http://www.library.temple.edu/speccoll/
Hours: M-F, 9-5
Wheelchair access: yes
History: The
Contemporary Culture Collection was founded by the Temple University Libraries
in 1969 to document the social/political protest literature of the 1960s,quickly
expanding into other fields of interest (alternative press, feminism, G & L studies, etc.).
Information about
holdings:
The collection has
extensive gay and lesbian periodical holdings as well as books and pamphlets,
which to a large degree are cataloged as books. In addition, two specific manuscript
collections are noted:
a. Papers of Scott
Wilds, 1973-1992. 10 cu. ft. Philadelphia gay activist. Papers are heavily city
politics, political parties, and organizations related to gay and lesbian political
representation.
b. Pennsylvania Lesbian and Gay Task Force (aka Philadelphia Lesbian and Gay Task Force, PLGTF), 1978-1997, 1999-2005. 160 cu. ft. (Covering governance
issues - Board minutes, finances, etc. - fundraising, publications, civil rights,
The Hotline, educational reform, media, petitions). Includes ca. 100 VHS tapes and 100 audio tapes, Primarily of PLGTF civil rights, mass media and education rights work Special 16 CD collection. Director's review of certain projects and commentary which should have been but was not edited prior to CD transfer. A catalogue (available here in word format, probably) was prepared by PLGTF to accompany the first material transfer in 1995. Subsequent to 1995, though transferred files were subject and date organized, there was no consistent follow thru on the original structure, absent staff. Exception: annotated transfer of the director's personal files post 2000 (8 redundant boxes), and aforementioned CD collection describing the latter material transfers to Paley. Restrictions: One restriction only related to board governance in deference to someone's privacy need of the time. That, too, open 2015. Rita Addessa, director emeritus (Dec 1979-July 2005). addessa@verizon.net and 215.817.1100
Collecting interests:
The collection welcomes
additional materials in all formats, international, 1950s-date.
Use requirements:
Must be an adult with
photo i.d.
Services: Research space, reference
assistance onsite, copying services, telephone reference, audiovisual facilities,
internet reference, exhibitions, loan agreements for exhibits, occasional ILL
requests allowed.
Indices, finding
aids, collection descriptions: All cataloged books,
pamphlets and periodicals are in RLIN and OCLC and in the library's online catalog: http://diamond.temple.edu
Inventories for the
manuscript collections are available onsite.
University
of Pennsylvania
Archives and Records Center
Location: North Arcade
Franklin Field
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6320
Phone: (215) 898-7025 Fax: (215) 573-2036
Contact: Amey Hutchins
Email address: uarc@pobox.upenn.edu
Internet address: http://www.archives.upenn.edu
Hours: Mon-Fri: 9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Wheelchair Access: no, but researchers in wheelchairs can be accommodated
by transporting papers to another university building.
History
The Archives and Records Center was established in 1940.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 4 cubic ft.
Organizational records: 51 cubic ft.
Printed material: 1 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: .5 cubic ft.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Philadelphia, especially University of Pennsylvania, 1740 to the present.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Samuel Hadden Papers, 1918-1988, psychotherapist in group practice 'curing'
the homosexual. Christian Association Records, 1857-1990, are more gay friendly
and include the establishment of various LGBT groups on campus.
Collecting interests
Materials that relate to the university and to the university community.
Use requirements
Registration and identification are required.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aids are available, including records in RLIN.
[Return to Top]