OHIO
Northeast Ohio
Lesbian/Gay Archives
Location: Western Reserve Historical Society
10825 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone: (216) 721-5722 Fax: (216) 721-5702
Contact: Curator of Manuscripts for collection development; Reference
for reference access
Email: reference@wrhs.org
Internet address: http://www.wrhs.org
Hours: Tue-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
History
Established in 1991 as a collaborative project of the Lesbian/Gay Community
Services Center and the Western Reserve Historical Society.
Information about holdings
Organizational records: 2 collections
Printed material: 3 periodical titles
Film/Video/Sound: some
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Northeastern Ohio, 1970s to present.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Lesbian/Gay Community Services Center of Greater Cleveland, and the Gay Educational
Awareness Resources Foundation.
Collecting interests
We collect personal papers, organizational records, and publications. Our scope
covers Loraine, Medina, Cuyahoga, Lake, Geauga, and Ashtabula counties.
Use requirements
Admission to library is free to members of the Western Reserve Historical
Society, others must pay an admission fee. Collections have minor restrictions.
Comments about
access/use:
Individual memberships are $25.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aids are available.
Oberlin College Archives
Address: Oberlin College
420 Mudd Center
Oberlin, OH 44074
Phone: (440) 775-8014
Contact: Roland M. Baumann
Email: Archives.Office@oberlin.edu
Internet address: http://www.oberlin.edu/archive/
Collecting areas: The College Archives acquires documentary material
that reports on the sexual orientation subcommittee of the student body and
the Alumni Association as well as collects the personal papers of artists, faculty,
staff, and graduates.Of principal importance are the records of the Lesbian,
Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered Union (LGBTU),1971-2000; Oberlin Lambda Alumni
(OLA), 1987-2000, a self-defined group under the Oberlin Alumni Association;
Papers of John Young '83, 1979-2001; Papers of Jan Cooper, 1987-1997; and Papers
of Joseph Plaster, 1999-2000; plus various files regarding sexual orientation
and intense relationships with the same sex in established institutional record
groups.
Ohio
Lesbian Archives
Address: P.O. Box 20075
Cincinnati, OH 45220
Phone: (513) 541-1917
Contact: Karen Phebe Beiser and Victoria Ramstetter
Email: ohiolesbian archives@yahoo.com
Internet address: http://www.geocities.com/ohiolesbianarchives
Hours: Tue: 6-7:30 pm, and by appointment.
Wheelchair Access: no
History
Begun in 1978 by the staff of DINAH, a local lesbian newsletter, the collections
were housed in a private apartment and open by appointment only. On August
27, 1989, the collection moved to its permanent home in the Cincinnati Women's
Building.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 20+ collections of women's papers
Organizational records: 4 ft.
Printed material: 120 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 17 ft.
Objects/ephemera: 500 items
Film/Video/Sound: 9 ft.
Photographs: hundreds of photos
Microfilm: yes
Other holdings/notes: yes
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
All material is post WWII with the most extensive holdings covering the 1970s.
The focus is on Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana, but the archives includes national,
and some international, books and periodicals.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Lesbian Activist Bureau (1970s), Crazy Ladies Bookstore and Center, Stonewall
Cincinnati, Muse (women's choir), DINAH (Newsletter), A Room of One's Own
(Indiana bookstore), Sisterspirit (Mississippi), The Ladder (periodical 1966-1972:
partial run), Victoria Ramsetter (local author/activist), Juana Maria Paz,
interview with Just for Now (women's band), and taped speeches of Z Budapest,
Alix Dobkin, Sonia Johnson, and Minnie Bruce Pratt.
Collecting interests
The Ohio Lesbian Archives collects lesbian materials relating to the Cincinnati
tri-state area.
Use requirements
All collections are open.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
Internet reference (email/web), and borrowing privileges for individuals.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
There are indices for several years of the area lesbian newsletter DINAH.
An inventory of the vertical file and books is in progress.
News about collections
Newsletter.
Popular
Culture Library
Address: Bowling Green State University
Jerome Library, 4th floor
Bowling Green, OH 43403
Phone: (419) 372-2450 Fax: (419) 372-7996
Contact: Colleen Warner
Email: pcldesk@bgnet.bgsu.edu
Internet address: http://www.bgsu.edu/colleges/library/pcl/pcl.html
Hours: Academic year Mon-Thu: 9 am - 9 pm; Fri: 9 am - 5 pm; Sat: 1-5
pm; Sun: 4-9 pm. Hours vary during semester breaks, summers and holidays.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Popular Culture Library was created in 1969 within the main library of Bowling
Green State University, to support the university's programs in cultural studies.
Information about holdings
Printed material: approx. 1,250 book and periodical titles scattered throughout
the collections
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
LGBT materials include westerns, erotic stories, science fiction, underground
comics, alternative press publications and others.
Collecting Interests:
Major subject strengths of the Popular Culture Library include: popular fiction
in the romance, mystery, science fiction, western, and adventure genres, the
performing arts and entertainment industry, the graphic arts and mass communications,
foodways and cookery, sports, recreation and travel, popular religion and the
supernatural, teen culture and counterculture, folklore, wit and humor.
Use requirements
Must have valid photo ID and complete registration form.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
and telephone reference.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
All cataloged materials are on OCLC. There are finding aids and guides for uncataloged
collections.
News about collections
Collection announcements are sent out for major new additions.
[Return to Top]