NORTH CAROLINA
Appalachian State
University
Address: W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection
Carol G. Belk Library
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608
Phone: (828) 262-4041 Fax: (828) 262-2553
Contact: Kathryn Staley, archivist; Fred Hay, librarian
Internet address: http://www.library.appstate.edu/appcoll
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8 am - 5 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection is a repository for materials related to
the Appalachian region and was dedicated on October 18, 1971. We are part of
the Carol G. Belk Library's Special Collections.
Information about holdings
Time periods/geographical regions
Mid-20th Century and turn of 20th-21st century Appalachian region, specifically
Watauga County, North Carolina.
Significant people/organizations/subjects documented
Richard Chase Papers, 0.5 linear feet (Chase was an early folklorist who
documented the Jack Tales); Boone Christ's Church United Records (not open to
the public), 1 linear foot (Boone Christ's Church United is a break off church
from the Metropolitan Community Church located in a rural Appalachian university
town); Through Their Eyes [videorecording]: Stories of Gays and Lesbians
in the Mountains/directed by Charles Culp, et al., project director, Kelli
Ward. Whitesburg, KY: Appalshop, 1999. The Collection also contains several
novels that are either by glbt Appalachian authors or set in the region as well
as a few non-fiction monographs.
Collecting Interests
We continue to increase our holdings in all formats. We only collect relative
to the Appalachian region, as defined by the Appalachian Regional Commission.
Services
Reference assistance on site, copying services, telephone reference, individual
borrowing privileges for open stacks materials only.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Collection guides are avaiable online in EAD finding aids and open stacks materials
are in MARC records in our OPAC
Duke
University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
Address: Box 90185
Durham, NC 27708-0185
Reading Room: 103 Perkins Library
Phone: (919) 660-5828 Fax: (919) 660-5934
Contact: Laura Micham, Director of the Library's Sallie Bingham Center
for Women's History and Culture and Women's Studies Bibliographer.
Email: cwhc@duke.edu
Internet address: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/specoll
Hours: Mon-Thu: 9 am - 9 pm; Fri: 9 am - 5 pm; Sat: 1-5 pm. Summers and
vacations, Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm; Sat: 1-5 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Manuscript Department was established in 1931, and the Rare Book Department
was formally organized in 1942. Between 1989 and 1992 the two departments combined
to form the present Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Information about holdings
Time periods/geographical regions documented:
Primarily the 20th century American South.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Lesbian Pulp Novel Collection; Reevy Collection of Books on the History of Sexuality
(168 items); John Addington Symonds Papers, 1870-1894 (bulk, 1889-1892; 12 items);
Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives and Periodicals Collection, 1972-1994
(archives: 18,000 items, periodicals: 33,750 items); Julia Penelope Papers,
1966-1994 (25,00 items); North Carolina Lesbian and Gay Health Project Records,
1982-1996 (13,800 items); Milo Guthrie Papers, 1962-1990 (15,150 items); William
Gedney Photographs and Writings, 1950s-1994 (49,870 items); Sarah Dyer zine
collection, 1974-2000 (1750 items); Sarah Wood zine collection, 1990s (100 items);
Modern Language Association gay and Lesbian Caucus Lesbian and Gay Studies Newsletter
Archives, 1974-1998 (5,568 items);The Front Page (Raleigh, NC) records, 1977,
1980-1999 (25,000 items; Will Inman papers, 1910-2001 (39,401 items); Lightning
Brown Papers, 1983-1985 (1500 items); OutRight! Records, 1990-1995 (4500 items);
Jim Grimsley Papers, 1970-1997 (2500 items); Mab Segrest Papers, 1967-1996 (17,625
items); Dawn Langley Simmons Papers, 1952-1998 (407 items); James T. Sears papers,
1967-1999 (ongoing accessions; currently 26,500 items); Carl Corley papers,
1939-present (650 items); William Cannicott Olson Papers, 1956-1985 (7,877 items);
Loreen Weeks and Fred Klasse Papers,
1892-1937 (160 items); Percy Ryberg papers; Charles Baker Journals, 1859, 1861-1879,
and 1900-1904 (25 volumes);
Minnie Bruce Pratt; Mandy Carter; and Catherine Nicholson.
Other holdings potentially of interest to researchers in LGBT studies include
the manuscript collections of Robin Morgan, kate Millett, Phyllis Chesler, Charles
Torrence nesbitt, William Eliza Terrell, and Alma Strikeleather Wall, and a
1904 edition of "The Songs of Bilitis."
Collecting interests
We actively collect materials in LGBT history and culture, with a primary emphasis
on the LGBT activism and literature in the American South. We also emphasize
collecting LGBT materials that intersect with our other collecting priorities
(e.g. women's studies, African-American studies, history of advertising, English-language
literature, Southern history and culture, documentary photography, history of
economic thought).
Use requirements
Patrons must register and show photo identification. Individual collections
may have restrictions; please consult with reference staff in advance of visiting
the library to see if any additional permisions to use specific holdings are
required.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Occasional exhibitions; support Duke University classes in LGBT studies.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
On-line public catalog, OCLC records, published guide to the collections (1980),
and in-house finding aids.
News about collections
LGBT collections are advertised in The Broadside, the RBMSCL newsletter, along
with our other collections.
[Return to Top]