NEW YORK
Black Gay and Lesbian Archive Project
12 West 130th Street #3
New York, NY 10037
Phone: (212) 491-2226
Contact: Steven G. Fullwood, Project Director
Email: bglanyc@yahoo.com
Collecting areas: Materials produced by and about lesbain, gay, bisexual,
transgender, Same Gender Loving, queer, questioning, and in the life people
of African descent, nationally and internationally. Formats include: audiotapes,
books, broadsides, dramatic works, film, flyers, journals, magazines, monographs,
newletters, newspapers, organizational records, palm cards, pamphlets, photographs,
poetry, posters, prints, slides, and video.
Human
Sexuality Collection
Location: Rare and Manuscript Collections
2B Carl A. Kroch Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853-5302
Phone: 607-255-3530 Fax: 607-255-9524
Contact: Brenda J. Marston
Email: bjm4@cornell.edu
Internet address: http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/HSC/
Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm all year; Sat: 1-5 pm when classes are
in session during the fall and spring semesters. Out of town visitors should
verify hours before they visit by calling or emailing rareref@cornell.edu.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Human Sexuality Collection's mission is to build and promote the use of
an extensive collection of primary sources on social and political aspects
of human sexuality. We document lbgt politics and lives and the politics of
pornography on a national level. Our collecting is guided by an interest in
how definitions of sexual identity shift over time and the way in which personal
choices and public discourse about sexuality evolve. We pay particular attention
to under-documented people and issues, in the interests of making the historical
record more complete, and we welcome input from activists and researchers
about issues that need to be documented.
The HSC aims to work in cooperation with other repositories and people to
promote interest in preserving the history of sexuality and to identify and
find appropriate archival homes for important primary sources.
The collection began with Bruce Voeller's 1988 gift of the Mariposa Education
and Research Foundation archives and an endowment from David B. Goodstein
(Cornell '54). Cornell University's Board of Trustees approved the library's
commitment to the new program. The mission and history are described in a
printed brochure and on our web site.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 88 collections
Organizational records: 22 collections; with manuscripts, 637.6 cubic ft.
total.
Printed material: over 5,000 books; 200 non-U.S. periodicals; 1,150 U.S. periodicals.
Clippings/vertical files: only as part of manuscript collections and organizational
records
Objects/ephemera: art and ephemera are cataloged as manuscript collections
(e.g. RLIN records: NYCV89-A124, NYCV94-A200 through A206; NYCV95-A111)
Film/Video/Sound: 99 videos; 29 films; 90 tapes; plus items contained within
manuscript collections and organizational records.
Photographs: contained within manuscript collections and organizational records
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Current holdings are primarily from 1950 on. Open to adding earlier material.
The geographical focus is on the United States. Will also collect international
periodicals, U.S. citizen's international activities, and materials with a
regional focus on upstate New York.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Lesbian, bisexual, gay male, and transgendered people and politics, especially
national organizations and personal papers. Strong subjects: personal impact
of AIDS; lbgt activism, from 1970s lesbian feminism and gay liberation through
1980s AIDS activism and on; lbgt people of color; pro- and anti-pornography
activism, and samples of lbgt erotica and porn; families of lbgt people; lbgt
publishing.
People: Brian McNaught; James M. Foster; H. Lynn Womack; the Goldstaub
family; Phil Zwickler; Robert Garcia; Rosa Von Praunheim; Brent Nicholson
Earle; Perry Brass; Robert J. Leach; Kristin Esterberg's oral history project;
Roey Thorpe's oral history project; David B. Goodstein; Bruce R. Voeller;
Robert Roth; Harry Langhorne; Robert Lynch; David P. McWhirter; Jean O'Leary;
Alice Reynolds; Richard Schlegel; Joseph Albertson's films; Michael Scherker;
Thomas J. Collier; Chasen Gaver; Larry Bush; Gordon Martin; David Patrick
McIntosh; George Fisher; Michael L. Williams; Matthew Wolfe; Perry Deane Young.
Organizations: National Gay and Lesbian Task Force; National Lesbian
and Gay Health Association; Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, national
office; Gay Media Task Force; Fund for Human Dignity; Advocate Research and
Education Foundation; Big Table; Gay Publishing Company; Lesbian and Gay Congressional
Staff Association; National Socialist League printed miscellany; PWA Health
Group; Senior Action in a Gay Environment; American Psychological Association's
Division 44, Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian and Gay Issues;
Gay Alliance of Genesee Valley, New York; New York State Lesbian and Gay Lobby;
AIDS Work of Tompkins County, NY; Elysian Fields Booksellers.
Art work of note: Don Bachardy's Mariposa Portrait Series.
Collecting interests
The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary
sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality,
with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history, bisexual and transgender issues
and individuals, and the politics of pornography. We are actively expanding
the Collection and are especially seeking gifts of personal papers, organizational
records, rare books, and periodicals that document marginalized groups. Through
this program, Cornell University is working to ensure that a more complete historical
records of sexuality and gender will be available to researchers.
Use requirements
Open to the public. Researchers register upon first visit, showing a valid
photo ID. Registrations are kept confidential.
Comments about
access/use:
Web site contains information on access.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
The Rare and Manuscript Division is committed to providing access to the collections
through tours and instruction. We welcome opportunities to meet with classes
and other groups. Instructors who wish to integrate primary sources into student
assignments are encouraged to contact the Head of Public Services. Staff can
also aid in searching a variety of national online resources and locating
materials available in other libraries.
Staff organize and participate in conferences and events that promote discussion
and research in these areas. Cornell's LBG Studies and Women's Studies programs
provide an exciting environment for researchers.
Access and use of the materials is a priority. We catalog and process collections
as soon as possible, and we will allow use of uncataloged and unprocessed
materials. Because the division's collections are unique and often fragile,
they are housed in secure stacks with carefully controlled temperature and
humidity. Items will be retrieved upon request for use in the Reading Room.
Reproductions: Research materials may be photographed or photocopied
on request, depending upon physical condition and any donor or copyright restrictions.
There is a charge for these services.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
All manuscript collections are described in RLIN soon after they arrive. These
descriptions are downloaded to Cornell's online library catalog (available
through http://www.library.cornell.edu/).
Most collections have more detailed guides available for use in our reference
room; we will photocopy these guides upon request. Most periodicals are now
cataloged, and descriptions are in Cornell's online catalog. A growing portion
of our books also can be found in the online catalog. We have a complete bibliography
of the nonfiction books published prior to 1973 and listings of our pulp fiction.
We will provide photocopies of these lists upon request.
News about collections
Periodic letter to friends of the HSC, web site, and press releases. Staff
share news about the collection at academic, professional, and political conferences
and meetings.
Lesbian and Gay
Community Services Center
National Archive of Lesbian and Gay History
Location: 208 West 13 Street
New York, NY 10011
Phone: (212) 620-7310 Fax: (212) 924-2657
Contact: Rich Wandel
Email: archive@gaycenter.org
Internet address: http://www.gaycenter.org/resources/archive/
Hours: Mon, Thu: 6-9 pm, or by appointment.
Wheelchair Access: difficult but possible; happy to make accommodations
needed for the differently abled.
History
The National Archive of Lesbian and Gay History is a program of the Lesbian
and Gay Community Services Center. The archive was founded in 1988 by Rich Wandel
at the request of the center's Board of Directors.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 100 ft.
Organizational records: 50 ft.
Printed material: 150 ft. of periodicals
Clippings/vertical files: 30 ft.
Objects/ephemera: 10 ft.
Film/Video/Sound: 12 ft.
Photographs: 12 ft.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Mostly the eastern United States in the second half of the 20th century. Periodicals
cover the entire United States and some foreign countries.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Includes the papers of AIDS activist Michael Callen, Meridian Theater co-founder
Terry Helbing, author Darrell Yates Rist, gay activist Marty Robinson, copies
of FBI files on gay organizations in the early 1970s, the death row papers
of R. A. Sullivan, personal papers of Washington resident James R. Perry,
and many New York City GLBT organizations including early records of the Christopher
Street Liberation Day Committee, Gay and Lesbian Youth of New York, and the
Chelsea Gay Association. Several photographic collections document the LGBT
community. These include the Leonard Fink Collection images of the New York
City piers in the 1970s and 1980s, and the Richard Wandel collection documenting
the early political activity of the Gay Activists Alliance. For additional
information, see the Summary Guide to the Collections.
Collecting interests
We collect LGBT materials from all times and places. We collect all forms
of material except books. The center has a separately operating lending library
that does accept books.
Use requirements
The Center Archive is for use by the entire community. No one will be denied
use of materials based on race, color, creed, sex, or sexual orientation,
nor will restrictions be based on political views or affiliation, age, academic
credentials or the lack thereof. The center will make every reasonable effort
to accommodate those who wish to use the archive.
Services
Research space, copying, exhibitions, reference assistance on site, telephone
reference, and loan agreements for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Lecture series, walking tours, and speakers for local groups.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Collection level Summary Guide (available from the repository); folder level
finding aids, local MARC database and records in RLIN.
News about collections
Summary Guide is updated from time to time; the center publishes a newsletter
Center Voice, which includes information on the archive as well as on other
center programs.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Address: LHEF, Inc.
P.O. Box 1258
New York, NY 10116
Contact: Deborah Edel, Co-Coordinator
Phone: (718) 768-3953
Internet Address: http://www.lesbianherstoryarchives.org/
Collecting areas: All aspects of lesbian history and culture (international
in scope). We will collect and preserve any materials that are relevant to the
lives and experiences of lesbians: books, magazines, journals, newsclippings
(from establishment, feminist or lesbian media), bibliographies, photos, historical
information, tapes, films, diaries, oral histories, poetry and prose, biographies,
autobiographies, notices of events, posters, graphics, and other memorabilia.
The
Leslie-Lohman Gay Art Foundation
Location: 127B Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
Address: 127B Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
Phone: (212) 673-7007 Fax: (212) 260-0363
Contact: Wayne Snellen, Director; Tom Saettel, Assistant to the Director
Internet address: http://www.leslielohman.org
Hours: Galleries open Tue-Sat: 1-6 pm; archival material available
by appointment only.
Wheelchair Access: no
History
Leslie-Lohman is a non-profit arts foundation which was established in 1990
to provide an outlet for art work that is unambiguously gay and which is frequently
denied access to mainstream venues. The Foundation's Leslie-Lohman Gallery mounts
exhibitions of work in all media by gay and lesbian artists with an emphasis
on subject matter that speaks directly to gay and lesbian sensibilities, including
erotic, political, romantic, and social imagery and providing special support
for emerging and underrepresented artists. Its programs include regularly scheduled
exhibitions, video events, workshop presentation of plays, a slide registry,
artists' and curator's talks, panel discussions, a quarterly newsletter, a membership
program and an archive with the Foundation's permanent collection of art.
Information about holdings
Organizational records: 3 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 21 ft.
Film/Video/Sound: some video
Photographs: some
Other holdings/notes: approx. 2,500 works of art (painting, drawing, photography,
prints, sculpture)
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
The holdings cover 20th century lesbian and gay art worldwide.
Collecting interests
Gay/lesbian erotic art and information on artists, any time or place.
Use requirements
By appointment.
Services
Research space, exhibitions, reference assistance on site, telephone reference,
and loan agreements for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Approximately 2,500 works of art (paintings, drawings, photographs, prints,
sculpture) cataloged by a computer database.
News about collections
A quarterly newsletter, "The Archive".
The
New York Public Library,
Center for the Humanities,
Manuscripts and Archives Division
Location: Room 328 (reading room)
Address: Fifth Avenue & 42nd Street, Room 324
New York, NY 10018-2788
Phone: Reference: 212-930-0801; Curator: 212-930-0804 Fax: (212) 302-4815
Contact: William Stingone, Curator of Manuscripts
Email: Reference: mssref@nypl.org; Curator: wstingone@nypl.org
Internet address: http://www.nypl.org
(parent); gay info: http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/rbk/igic.html
http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/rbk/mss.html
(divisional info including some finding aids)
Hours: Tue, Wed: 11 am - 5:45 pm; Thu-Sat: 10 am - 5:45 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
NYPL first gave serious consideration to documenting g/l/b/t history in the
mid-1980s. G/l/b/t history became a major area of collection development in
1988 with the acquisition of the International Gay Information Center Archives,
previously a community based archive. The documentation of AIDS and HIV was
added to the division's mission in 1989. Since the late 1980s, approximately
35 collections pertaining to g/l/b/t history and culture, and to AIDS and
HIV, have been added. In 1994 the library mounted a major exhibition, "Becoming
Visible," to coincide with the 25th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.
Holdings summary
A guide with more detailed information is available on the web
http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/rbk/igic.html
, or in paper form (free).
International Gay Information Center Archives. The IGIC Archives operated
as a community-based repository until 1988, when the organization's directors
gave the collection to The New York Public Library. Series I, Organizational
Records and Personal Papers, 81.5 feet (1944-1991), includes the records of
the Mattachine Society of New York, Gay Activists Alliance, Gay Switchboard
and other organizations; and the personal papers of Arthur Bell, Billy Blackwell,
Perry Brass, Walter Porczak and others. Series II, Audiovisual Materials,
over 300 items (ca. 1970-1983) consists primarily of audiotapes and approximately
forty videotapes. Series III, Periodicals, approximately 2,000 separate periodical
titles comprising over 150 feet (1953-1989), includes publications from forty-seven
states and twenty-seven countries. Series IV, Books, an estimated 4,000 volumes
(mostly post-1950), includes works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama,
biography and erotica, primarily in English. Series V, Ephemera, approximately
150 feet (mostly 1969 - present), consists of printed material (such as flyers
and mailings) from approximately 400 organizations worldwide; articles and
other printed materials topically arranged; posters and artwork; postcards,
comic and coloring books, and artifacts; and t-shirts, banners, and buttons.
Most of the collection is now available for research with the exception of
a small quantity of unarranged ephemera and unprocessed recent additions that
are not accessible, and a few files that have been closed for a period of
time to protect the privacy of living (or presumed living) individuals, or
at the request of the donors.
Related Collections in the Manuscripts and Archives Division, processed:
Topics/organizations documented include lesbian and gay rights, the National
Gay Task Force, Thirteenth Moon (feminist literary journal), Gay Men's Health
Crisis, and living with and fighting against AIDS. Donors include authors,
activists, photographers, editors, historians, health administrators, and
people with many other occupations. The collections document the lives of
famous and lesser-known lesbians and gay men.
Leo Adams Papers, 1928-1952, .9 ft; David Louis Bowie Diaries, 1978-1993,
1 ft; Howard Brown Papers, 1924-1974, ca.8 ft; Aaron Cohen Papers, 1979-1989,
.17 ft; Diana Davies Collection, ca. 1969-1989, 2.3 ft; Day Without Art (NYPL)
Collection, 1994-1995, .83 ft; Martin Duberman Papers, 1917-1992, 37 ft; Stuart
Edelson Papers, 1966-1993, 4 ft; David Feinberg Papers, 1976-1994, 10 ft;
Fierce Pussy Collection, 1991-1994, .2 ft; Israel David Fishman Papers, 1970-1994,
3 ft; Rudy Grillo Collection, 1970-1989, ca. 1 ft; Doris Grumbach Papers,
1939-1995, 33 ft; Jonathan Ned Katz Papers, ca. 1947-1995, 25.5 ft; Arthur
Johnson Papers, 1980s-1990s, .75 ft; Lawrence Mass Papers, 1966-1995, 14 ft;
Martin Michel Collection, 1963-1984, .5 ft; Jack Nichols Papers, ca. 1965-1993,
.4 ft; Harold Pickett Papers, 1965-1988, 3 ft; Craig Rodwell Papers, 1940-1993,
7 ft; Vito Russo Papers, 1969-1990, 3.5 ft; Lester Q. Strong Papers, 1941-1996,
9 ft; Thirteenth Moon Records, 1973-1982, 27 ft; James Turcotte Papers, 1969-1992,
1.5 ft; Donald Vining Papers, 1926-1996, 3 ft.
Recently received collections, in process: ACT UP/NY Records; Bradley
Ball Papers; Charles Boultonhouse and Parker Tyler Papers; Copy Berg Papers;
Ted Cronin Collection; Gay Men's Health Crisis Records; Dorothee Gore Papers;
Gran Fury Collection; Karla Jay Papers; Arnie Kantrowitz Papers; Morty Manford
Papers and Jeanne Manford Papers; People With AIDS Coalition Records; and
Women's Action Coalition (WAC) Collection.
Collecting interests
Personal papers, organizational records, and ephemera, particularly from New
York and the Northeast U.S. region.
Use requirements
ID required to obtain reader's card for Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading
Room.
Comments about
access/use:
Additional access information available via web site: http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/spe/rbk/mss.html
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Phone reference limited to brief inquiries.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aids vary considerably. There are brief entries for most g/l/b/t collections
in the Library's on-line catalog, CATNYP (via web site, above); most also
have finding aids available on-site or remotely, on paper or floppy disk.
A few relevant finding aids are mounted on divisional web page (see above).
All of the books in the International Gay Information Center Archives are
cataloged in CATNYP.
News about collections
Handout titled "Gay and Lesbian Collections; AIDS/HIV Collections," available
free in paper and on web, revised whenever new collections are acquired or
when they become available for use.
The
New York Public Library,
Performing Arts Library,
Billy Rose Theatre Collection
Location: 40 Lincoln Center Plaza
New York, NY 10023
Phone: (212) 870-1637 Fax: (212) 787-3852
Contact: Bob Taylor, Curator
Email: theatrediv@nypl.org
Internet address: http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/the/the.html
Hours: Mon, Thu: 12-7:45 pm; Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat: 12-5:45 pm; closed
Sun. Videotape viewing in the TOFT Archives is by appointment only, Mon-Fri:
12-5:30 pm; Sat: 1-5:30 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Theatre Collection was established as a separate unit of the New York
Public Library in 1931. It was elevated to full research division in 1945,
and was officially named the Billy Rose Collection in 1979.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: yes
Organizational records: yes
Printed material: yes
Clippings/vertical files: yes
Objects/ephemera: yes
Film/Video/Sound: yes
Photographs: yes
Other holdings/notes: Original set, costume and lighting designs
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
International in scope, with an emphasis on the performing arts scene in New
York.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
"Theatre" is broadly defined to include not only live drama and musical theatre,
but also film, television, radio, circuses, wild West shows, puppetry, pageants,
magic, vaudeville and burlesque, and cabaret performance.
Holdings include the papers of playwright-director Charles Ludlam, director
A. J. Antoon, librettist Michael Stewart, producer Ken Harper, and writer-performers
Tom Keegan and Davidson Lloyd, among others. The work of major artists such
as Antoon, Michael Bennett, Ludlam, and Larry Kramer, among others, are represented
in the New York Shakespeare Festival/Joseph Papp Archives (in progress). Other
collections that contain materials related to gays and lesbians include the
Chamberlain and Lyman Brown Collection (in progress), and the Off-Off Broadway
Collection, which documents, season-by-season, the work of small theatre companies
in New York City.
The Theatre on Film and Tape (TOFT) Archive holds videotapes of New York stage
performances, regional productions, and dialogues with prominent theatre artists.
Among those gay and lesbian writers whose works are represented in the TOFT
archives are Terrence McNally, Jon Robin Baitz, Paula Vogel, Craig Lucas,
Tony Kuschner, Harvey Fierstein, Charles Ludlam, Holly Hughes, and Martin
Sherman. One-person shows by David Drake, Dan Butler, and Colin Martin, as
well as performances by companies like Split Britches and Ridiculous Theatrical
Company are represented. Holdings also include numerous works with gay themes
and characters.
Collecting interests
The Theatre Collection exhaustively collects all formats of materials related
to theatrical performance, from all times and geographical areas.
Use requirements
Anyone may use the collection during open hours. Collections in process are
not available for study. Some items may require 24-hour turnaround time for
retrieval.
Services
Research space, copying, exhibitions, reference assistance on site, telephone
reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Collection level records for archival collections are available via RLIN and
CATNYP (Catalog of the New York Public Libraries Research Divisions) on the
web. Finding aids providing folder level information are available on-site.
CATNYP also provides catalog records for all post-1972 books, and for more
recent scripts acquisitions. On-site, researchers should consult book, card,
and catalog records for complete holdings.
News about collections
The New York Public Library's annual report lists major acquisitions by the
various research divisions.
The
New York Public Library,
Performing Arts Library,
Dance Collection
Location: 40 Lincoln Center Plaza
New York, NY 10023
Phone: (212) 870-1657 Fax: (212) 799-7975
Contact: Madelaine M. Nichols
Email: mnichols@nypl.org
Internet address: http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/dan/dan.html
Hours: Mon, Thu: 12-8 pm; Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat: 12-6 pm. No appointments.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Dance Collection is a part of the Research Libraries of The New York Public
Library. Together with collections in music, recorded sound, and theater,
these divisions form the Performing Arts Library at Lincoln Center.
Holdings summary
In the past twenty years, many gay and lesbian dancers have become outspoken
about their sexuality and how it affects their creative work. Mark Morris,
Bill T. Jones, Rudolf Nureyev, Paul Taylor, Alvin Ailey, and the Ballets Trockadero
de Monte Carlo are perhaps the best known names of this period of candor.
Other distinguished contemporary performers who identify themselves as gay
or lesbian include Ann Carlson, Pat Graney, Neil Greenberg, DanceNoise, Ishmael
Houston-Jones, and Tim Miller.
Materials in the Dance Collection that provide a view of their works and opinions
include performance videotapes, oral history recordings (650 hours) and transcripts,
photographs (65,000), 20,200 programs, and 800 posters. Also documenting gay
and lesbian artists are 130 feet of manuscripts, 40 feet of organizational
records, 7,500 books, 5,200 folders of clippings (reviews, press releases,
feature articles from mass media and specialized non-dance sources), 5,200
film and videotape titles, and 350 reels of microfilm. Documentation is strongest
in 20th century America, Asia, and Europe, but there is worldwide coverage
of the 17th century to the present and some earlier.
In the early years of this century, Serge Diaghilev (d.1929) with his Ballets
Russes, led by the great male dancer Vaslav Nijinsky, provided a western European
focus for gay art of the highest standards. The Astruc Papers, approximately
1,300 items, cover the earliest years of Diaghivev's arrangements to introduce
Russian opera and ballet to Paris. The extensive book and periodical literature
on the Ballets Russes is well represented in the Dance Collection's general
holdings, along with many original photographs, particularly of Nijinsky.
In modern dance, Ted Shawn was the first important male dancer, and founded
a performing group, the Men Dancers, who toured America extensively in the
1930s Their working home was the farm at Jacob's Pillow. Beginning with the
Men Dancers' public demonstrations, the Pillow became a leading summer performance
and teaching venue that continues today, and has nurtured artists such as
Mark Morris. Shawn's long career is documented by extensive manuscript and
photographic collections.
Transgendered performance is the norm in several theatrical traditions ranging
from the Kathakali of southwest India, to modern Japanese Kabuki theater,
to the women who sometimes danced male roles in 19th century ballet. These
traditions are documented in prints, photographs and videotapes, and discussed
in articles and books.
The Dance Collection has recorded oral histories with dance artists since
the 1960s. As AIDS became a significant presence in the dance community during
the 1980s, the collection realized that artists who would normally record
an oral history at late middle age might need to be reached much earlier.
Outreach to the dance community produced a number of requests for interviews,
and the project continues. Chris Komar and Arnie Zane are among the interviewees
who have since died of AIDS related illnesses.
Collecting interests
Must be primarily focused on dance. Photographic, print, audio, manuscript,
and moving image materials. No costumes. Networking with other repositories
in the Dance Heritage Coalition helps place materials appropriately in those
cases when inclusion in the Dance Collection, or only in the Dance Collection,
is not the best location.
Use requirements
Must have a research interest.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
A search in the computerized catalog of the heading "homosexuality and dance"
leads to 55 specific items and may serve as a starting point. However, a knowledge
of specific names of interest is necessary for research in depth. There is
Internet access to the online catalog; there is a CD-ROM publication Dance
on Disk, and the entire catalog is in RLIN.
The
New York Public Library,
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Location: 515 Malcolm X Boulevard
New York, NY 10037-1801
Phone: (212) 491-2225 Fax: (212) 491-6760
Contact: Diana Lachatanere
Email: scmarbref@nypl.org
Internet address: http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Schomburg Center is part of the New York Public Library.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 32.5 ft.
Organizational records: 1 ft.
Printed material: approx. 100 volumes
Clippings/vertical files: 3 ft.
Photographs: 2,431 images
Other holdings/notes: 6 microfiche
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
1930s to the present.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Melvin Dixon, Assotto Saint, Joseph Beam, and Glenn Carrington.
Collecting interests
Black gay and lesbian life, any time period, geographical area, all formats.
Use requirements
No requirements for general collection, valid identification required to use
special collections.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Internet reference is limited.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aids, accession sheets and container lists, MARC records in RLIN, OCLC,
and local database.
New York University
Address: Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives
New York University
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
Phone: (212) 998-2630
Contact: Gail Malmgreen, Associate Head for Archival Collections
Email: gail.malmgreen@nyu.edu
Internet address: http://www.nyu.edu/library/bobst/research/tam
Collecting areas: The Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner labor Archives
document American radicalism, labor, and progressive social movements. Includes
material related to LGBT trade unionists, activists, and organizations, including
the Gay and Lesbian Labor Network, Leslie Cagan, Connie Kopelov, and the Out
at Work Collection.
[Return to Top]