NEVADA
University
of Nevada, Las Vegas
Address: Special Collections - Las Vegas Gay Archives
4505 Maryland Parkway
Box 457010
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7010
Phone: (702) 895-2234 Fax: (702) 895-1078
Contact: Su Kim Chung, Manuscripts Librarian
Email: skchung@unlv.edu
Internet address: http://library.unlv.edu/speccol/index.html
Hours: Mon, Wed, Fri: 9 am - 5 pm; Tue,Thu: 9 am - 9 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Special Collections Department was founded in 1965 to combine rare books, Nevada
collections, and gaming collections. The Lesbian and Gay Archives was acquired
in 1986 (not a separate facility, only a focus for collecting).
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 51 ft.
Organizational records: .5 ft.
Printed material: 18 ft. periodicals
Objects/ephemera: 20
Film/Video/Sound: 1 ft.
Other holdings/notes: posters
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Nevada: manuscripts and some periodicals, 1955-1997; National: some periodicals,
1974-1997.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
AIDS, bars--Las Vegas, business, child molesting, drag, entertainers, First
Desert States Gay/Lesbian Conference, Las Vegas Gay Archives, Lesbian Gay
Academic Union, Lesbian & Gay Pride Coalition, Metropolitan Community
Church, mormons--gay, Nevada Gay Times, Nevadans for Human Rights, politics--gay--Nevada,
pornography, prostitution, religion, and social events--gay.
Collecting interests
The Las Vegas Gay Archives is one of the collectin initiatives within the manuscripts
section of UNLV Special Collections. The Archives ncludes personal papers and
organizational records of notable figures, organizations and businesses in the
LAs Vegas gay community. The collection is supported by a number of rare monographs
and journals that chronicle gay history and the development of the gay community
in the United States.
Use requirements
Anyone may use the collections during regular hours.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements for
exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aid to manuscript collection, typed inventory alphabetically by subject.
[Return to Top]