MISSOURI
Ozarks
Lesbian and Gay Archives
Address: Special Collections & Archives Department
Meyer Library
Missouri State University
Springfield, MO 65897
Phone: (417)
836-5428
FAX: (417) 836-4764
Email: Archives@missouristate.edu
Internet Address: Department's general URL is http://library.missouristate.edu/Archives.
Researchers may prefer to link directly to the OLGA materials: http://library.missouristate.edu/archives/speccoll/olga.htm
Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00am to 4:30 pm
Wheelchair access:
yes
History: This collection was first proposed in the spring of 2003 by Drs. Holly Baggett and Ralph Smith of Missouri State
University. The Ozarks Lesbian and Gay Archives seeks to document the gay, lesbian,
bisexual, and transgender history of the Ozarks region. The archives was formally
established during a dedication/open house event on October 30, 2003.
Since the founding of the archives, an active oral history program was initiated that has already generated more than 40 oral histories and will continue to produce additional ones in the future.
Information about
holdings:
Manuscript material: 2 c.f
Film, video, or sound: 3.1 c.f
Organization's records: 1 c.f.
Printed materials: .25 c.f.
Clippings/vertical
files: 1.5 c.f.
Objects and ephemera: .25 c.f
Oral Histories: 40+
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Southwest Missouri/Ozarks from the1970's to the present.
Collecting interests:
Missouri State University's Special Collections & Archives Department is actively seeking and
able to obtain additional materials. Currently, all time periods and subjects
regarding LGBT history, events, issues, literature, and organizations are being
considered.
Use requirements:
All materials are open for research during normal reading room hours. Please
refer to the website for details.
Services:
Research space, reference
assistance on site, copying services, telephone reference, audiovisual facilities,
Internet reference (e-mail/web), exhibitions, loan agreements for exhibits
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions:
Finding aids for processed materials can be found at http://library.missouristate.edu/archives/speccoll/olga.htm. Newly acquired materials may not be processed. However, researchers are allowed access to unprocessed collections on a case by case basis.
Please contact the Archives with any questions.
News about collections:
Major acquisitions of new materials are announced in the Midwest Archives Conference
newsletter, via campus press releases, and in other learned society publications.
[Return to Top]