MINNESOTA
The
Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in GLBT Studies
Special Collections and Rare Books
University of Minnesota Libraries
111 Elmer L. Andersen Library
222 21st Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone:
(612) 624-7526
Contact: Jean-Nickolaus Tretter
Email: trett007@umn.edu
Internet Address:
http://www.trettercollection.org
Wheelchair Access:
Yes
History:
The collection was
begun by Jean-Nickolaus Tretter. After being discharged from the Navy, he and
his friends organized the first Twin Cities commemoration of the Stonewall Riots
in June 1972. At around the same time, Tretter began to collect gay and lesbian
materials in a piecemeal fashion. He didn't start out with the grand scheme
of an archive; he just gathered things that seemed to matter.
Tretter studied social and cultural anthropology at the University of Minnesota
from 1973-1976 and wanted to specialize in gay and lesbian anthropolgy but could
not get the institutional support he needed. Tretter dropped out of the university
and began working as a counselor at a Ramsey County residence for youth with
mutiple disabilities. He also began studying gay and lesbian history on his
won, beginning the accumulation of materials that currently make up his collection.
In 1983, Tretter was assembling a gay history display when he made a disturbing
discovery: "Our gay history was disappearing as fast as we were producing
it". Tretter consciuosly started collecting anything that was GLBT, always
on the lookout for new materials. Since 1982, he has been a member of the Los
Angeles-based International Gay and Lesbian Archives where he served as both
a board member and the Upper Midwest representative.
The Tretter Collection is affiliated with the Schochet Center for GLBT Studies
at the University of Minnesota.
Information about holdings:
The collection contains over 25,000 items and spans a variety of subjects
and formats. Subjects range from light fiction to religion to erotica to biographies
to local and national pride guides. It includes popular and scholarly books
and journals, newspapers, compact disks, taped interviews on audiocassette,
videos, uniforms, t-shirts, buttons, stamps, business cards, games (e.g. Gay
Monopoly), art, postcards, posters (e.g. from the National Lesbian Writers conference),
photographs, etc. The collection contains a good number of signed first edition
books. In addition to complete runs of local GLBT papers (e.g. Queue Press,
The GLC Voice, Equal Time, Lavender Magazine, all Pride Guides to date, Twin
Cities Gaze, etc.), other national and international newspapers are well represented
(e.g. the Lesbian Review of Books and related materials, Lambda Nordika, et
al.). Included in the collection are items such as the first territorial law
book of Minnesota detailing the sodomy law, the archives of the National Education
Association GL Caucus, and a book pulled from the burning of the Hirschfeld
Library in Berlin.
Time periods/geographical regions:
The oldest piece in the collection is an Egyptian phallic figurine. The
collection contains local, national and international materials, spanning a
wide range of time.
Significant people/organizations/subjects
documented:
The archives of the Lesbian Review of Books; the archives of the National Education
Association Gay & Lesbian Caucus; Early organizational papers of Amazon
Feminist Bookstore Cooperative, the oldest independent lesbian/feminist bookstore
in North America (still located in Minneapolis); the papers, videos, journals
of Patrick Scully, dancer and impressario; correspondence of explorer and anthropologist
Tobias Schneebaum and others.
Collecting Interests:
The University of Minnesota Libraries have assumed responsibilty for the
materials and are willing and able to assume curatorial responsibility for additional
materials as collected or donated. Additionally, the Schochtet Center for GLBT
Studies will help build the collection with donated materials, as well as offer
some financial support for acquisitions.
Use Requirements
The Tretter Collection is open to the public and its holdings are accessible
to all. Because of the rarity of the books and manuscript material in the collection,
however, the holdings do not circulate, except when used by satff for exhibition
purposes. Researchers may use the materials only in the Special Colelctions
reading room. Photocopying services are available for a fee, depending on the
fragility of the material. The requirements are the same for all University
of Minnesota special collections.
The Elmer L. Andersen Library, where the Tretter collection is housed, has regular
business hours, Monday through Friday. For speedier access apointments made
in advance are recommended. The library is wheelchair accessible.
Services:
Research space, reference assistance on site, copying services, telephone
reference, loan agreements for exhibits can be arranged.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions:
The collection's database catalog, which was created by Jean-Nickolaus Tretter,
is in the process of being tranferred to the Special Collections database. Once
completed, the Tretter Collection database will be accessible on-line.
Minnesota
Historical Society
Address: 345 Kellogg Blvd. West
St. Paul, MN 55102-1906
Phone: (651) 296-2143 (reference)
E-mail: reference@mnhs.org
Contact: Kathryn Otto, Head of Reference
Internet address:
http://www.mnhs.org/library/search/index.html
Hours: Mon., Wed-Sat., 9-5; Thursday, 9-9
Wheelchair access: Yes
History:
The Historical Society was chartered in 1849 as the second act of the Territorial
Legislature. The Society is not part of the state government, but an independent
non-profit educational institution with a self-perpetuating board of directors.
Its mission is to document the human history of Minnesota. The Society's
main facility, which houses museum galleries and a research library, is open
without charge to the public. There is no charge for access to the research
collections but charges do apply for reproductions.
Holdings Summary:
This is a summary of the Society's holdings by its major collection divisions.
Please note that the Society uses GLBT rather than LGBT as its abbreviation
for the collection.
Government Records
In 1971 the Society was given the responsibility for administering the State
Archives - the official records of state, county, municipal and township governments.
Among the record series that are richest in documents and data on GLBT citizens
in Minnesota are those of the State Department of Human Rights (1955-80) and
Minneapolis Department of Civil Rights (1947-79). other important series
include: correspondence and subject files of the Governor's Office, the
records and case files of the Minnesota Attorney General's Office, and the subject
files of Minneapolis mayor Don Fraser. Extensive records of the Governor's
Task Force on Lesbian and Gay Minnesotans (1990-91) are included in the manuscript
collection of Leo Treadway (see below), vice chair of the Task Force.
Manuscript Collections
The manuscript collections include the papers (letters, diaries, scrapbooks,
etc) of individuals and the records (minutes, reports, financial documents,
etc.) of organizations and businesses. Among the Society's most important
GLBT manuscript collections are the papers of: elected official and AIDS
victim Brian Coyle (1965-91); the papers of Leo Treadway (1971-95) - documenting
his work with secular and religious organizations advancing gay rights and human
justice issues; activist and organizer Thom Higgins (1950-94) - including documentation
of the famous 1977 incident in which he hit Anita Bryant with a pie; Wallace
Swan (1975-94) - reflecting his work as a public administrator and active role
in in the Minneapolis gay community as a parent, church member, patron of the
arts, and civil rights advocate. Organizational records that document
the GLBT community include: The Women's Coffeehouse Collective (1975-90)
- a "chemically-free meeting place for all women which supports and nurtures
the social, cultural, and political life of the Twin Cities lesbian community";
Lesbian and Gay Interfaith Council of Minnesota (1978-87), composed of several
religious groups ministering to the gay community; Northland Business Association
(1985-88) "gay and lesbian business and professional people...joined together
for educational and humanitarian purposes and mutual support"; Out and About
Theater (1977-82) - a Minneapolis Theater "committed to a forthright and earnest
exploration of diverse expressions of alternative lifestyles"; GAMMA (1978-96)
- a social and athletic organization for gay men in the Twin Cities; Minnesota
Committee for Gay Rights (1974-84) - documenting its work to pass local ordinances
and state laws guaranteeing rights for gays, to combat homophobia and violence
against gays, and to educate the public and legislature about GLBT issues generally.
Oral Histories
The Society holds two major oral history projects related to the GLBT community.
"Twin Cities Gay and Lesbian Community Oral History Project, 1993," contains
interviews with people connected with the local gay/lesbian community from the
1940s to the advent of AIDS in the early 1980s. Narrators recount early
impressions of what they thought homosexuality was, personal expreiences of
how they came to terms with their sexuality and the social environment they
experienced in the Twin Cities. Interviewees: Richard Bosard, Dennis E.
Miller, Koreen Phelps, Ashley Ann Rukes, Allan Spear, Leo Treadway, Jean-Nicholas
Tretter, Kerry Woodward. "Not Waiting for a Cure Oral History Project,
1994-1995," documents Minnesota's response to AIDS from personal and sociopolitical
perspectives, through the memory of those working in and lost to the epidemic.
Interviewees: Grace Arrington, Kiran Belani, Sharon Day, Cindy Hawkins,
Agnes Leitheiser, Sister Joannes Lucid, William Main, Cynthia Mayeda, Steve
Moore, Frank S. Rhame, Roy Schmidt, Rev. Vincent Schwahn, Patrick Scully, David
Swarthout, Pat Thayer, Robert E. Tracy, Violetta, John Weiser, Shirley Wilson.
Library
The Library holds and continues to collect magazines and newspapers published
by and for the GLBT community - for example, Equal Time (1984-94), Infront Directory
(1995-present), Lavender (1995-present), Official Pride Guide (1989-present),
Twin Cities Gayzette/The Free Voice/The Uptown Voice (1971-72), Bi the Way (1993-98),
The GLC Voice (1979-88), Minnesota positive: HIV monthly newsletter (1993-present),
GAB Skinny (1995-present), Twin Cities Gaze (1985-92). The Society holds
microfilm editions of virtually every English-language newspaper printed in
Minnesota - an unparalleled resource for the study of any community. Researchers
will also find many reports, such as the 1975 HumanRights Issues: Fair Employment
for Gay People...by the League of Minnesota Human Rights Commissions, and Northstar
Project: Out and Counted: A Survey of the Twin Cities Gay and Lesbian
Community, 1988, by the Gay and Lesbian Community Action Council. Among
the books related to Minnesota GLBT people are Kurt Chandler's Passages of Pride:
Lesbian and Gay Youth Come of Age (1995), Mary Borhek's My Son Eric (1979),
David Brudnoy's memoir Life is Not a Rehearsal (1997), Reclaiming the Heartland:
Lesbian and Gay Voiced from the Midwest (1996). The Society documents
the cultural life of the state, including fiction by GLBT authors. Ellen
Hart's award-winning Jane Lawless mysteries are just one example.
Art Collection
The Society's collection of more than 6,000 paintings, prints, and drawings
includes works by GLBT artists, such as Mark O'Leary (1953-93), an accomplished
painter who contracted AIDS in his thirties and found it necessary to work on
a small scale with colored pencil on paper as his illness progressed.
Several of his works are in the Art Collection, and his papers are in the Society's
manuscript collection.
Sound and Visual Collections
The Sound and Visual collection at the History Center holds hundreds of photographs
relating to GLBT people in the state of Minnesota. These include portraits
of individuals and scenes of group activity. Portraits are indexed by
name of the person, and other photographs are arranged by subject category.
In addition, the separately cataloged Thom Higgins Photo Collection contains
a wealth of images of the Twin Cities GLBT community, and the Brian Coyle manuscript
collection (see above) contains a large number of photographs as well.
The Society also collects sound recordings and moving images such as Stay With
Me - Ellen Anthony's documentary on state legislator Karen Clark.
Museum Artifacts
The Museum Collections department at the Society documents GLBT Minnesotans
through acquiring and cataloging three-dimensional artifacts. These artifacts
reflect "famous" events and people, but even more the ordinary lives of ordinary
people. Objects relating to the LGBT community range from a guerilla theater
costume used in a Twin Cities demonstration against a meeting of the Beran League
in the 1980's to a business card from the local office of ACT UP, with the tag-line
"Where is Your Anger?" Other objects include dozens of buttons - those
promoting political campaigns and causes (supporting Alan Spear and Al Oertwig
campaigns, and opposing the 1978 referendum to repeal the St. Paul Human Rights
ordinance) and those commemorating events (Gay Pride festivals, Out and About
Theater's first production, "Minnesota Leather Encounter '91"). There
are banners here (one that hung in the Women's Coffeehouse Collective, and one
carried by Gay & Lesbian Youth Together in Pride parades) flyers ("FTM-A
Transsexual Journey from Female to Male" st the Minnesota Fringe Festivalin
1995 is just one), even a deck of cards - a souvenir of the 1969 New year's
celebration at the Happy Hour Bar. The collections include the announcement
for the wedding of David Fey and Michael Putnam in Minneapolis, and the commemorative
"stone wall" erected at the state capitol in 1989 during the "St. Paul:
Celebrating the Struggle" rally. These and other objects are available
for research by appointment. Call the department at 651-296-8071, Monday
through Friday.
Collecting interests:
Materials relating directly to Minnesota
Use requirements:
Open to the public. Users must provide a picture ID for registration purposes
and agree to abide by the general use policies of the Society. Some specific
collections may have access restrictions imposed by the donor.
Services:
Research space, reference assistance on site, copying services, telephone reference,
audiovisual facilities, internet reference, exhibition loan agreements for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
All published collection material (with the important exception of newspaper
titles) is cataloged in OCLC and the regional OPAC PALS (accessible on the web
via the Society's web site). All manuscript and state archives collections
are cataloged in RLIN/NUCMC and in PALS. Each collection also has a paper
finding aid available in the research library (some of these finding aids are
linked to their respective PALS records). The photo collections are accessible
through an in-house card catalog; this catalog is currently being converted
to electronic form, and is accessible through the Society's web page.
The artifact collection is cataloged on an in-house database, available by appointment;
some of the artifacts are also cataloged in PALS.
Quatrefoil Library
1619 Dayton Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55104
Phone: (651) 641-0969
Contact: Kathy Robbins
Email: quatrefoillibrary@yahoo.com
Internet address: http://www.qlibrary.org
Collecting areas: The Quatrefoil Library houses published GLBT materials, including
books, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, videos, DVD's, audiocassettes and
CD's.
[Return to Top]