MICHIGAN
Michigan
State University
Address: University Libraries
Special Collections Division
100 Library
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: (517) 353-8700 Fax: (517) 353-5069
Contacts: Peter Berg, Kristine Baclawski, Gerald Paulins, Randall Scott
Emails: berg@pilot.msu.edu; baclaws1@msu.edu; paulins@pilot.msu.edu;
scottr@pilot.msu.edu
Internet address: http://www.lib.msu.edu/coll/main/spec_col/radicalism/glbt/index.htm
Hours: M-F 9 am - 5 pm; Sat. 10 am - 2 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Gay and Lesbian materials were first collected in 1971, as part of MSU's American
Radicalism Collection.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 1 box
Organizational records: 10 boxes
Printed material: 1,500 books; 350 journal titles
Clippings/vertical files: 37 ft. of vertical files
Film/Video/Sound: 6 videos, 24 sound
Other holdings/notes: over 100+ comic books related to GLBT; uncat. TV/TS; volumes:
100
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Primarily 1950-present; national with some international holdings.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Dignity, MSU Gay/Lesbian Taskforce, GLBT Journals, Gay men in the men's movement;
Gay comics, AIDS comics, NAMBLA, religious right, Transvestite fiction, and
Gay-Lesbian pulp fiction.
See guides on The Comic Art Collection, The Russel B. Nye Popular Culture
Collections, and the American Radicalism Collections. Also, in the MSU Library
Microfilm Collection: San Francisco Bay Area gay and lesbian serial microfilm
collection.
Collecting interests
In-depth resource of cross-disciplinary materials representing diverse or opposing
viewpoints on the construction and development of gender and sexual identities,
homosexuality, bisexuality, etc. Special attention has been focused on representing
the cultural and political experiences of diverse and marginalized groups of
people, including particular contributions from people of various sexual identities,
and among them, especially those persons from minority cultures, races, classes,
etc.
Use requirements
[None noted.]
Comments about
access/use:
Materials do not circulate; there are very limited photocopy services via inter-library
loan.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
There is a printed index only for comic art holdings; access to cataloged materials
is through a local database (MAGIC) and there are records in OCLC.
University of Michigan
Labadie Collection
Special Collections Library
University of Michigan
711 Hatcher Library
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205
Phone: (734)764-9377
Contact: Julie Herrada, Curator
Email: special.collections@umich.edu
Internet address: http://www.lib.umich.edu/spec-coll/labadie
Collecting areas: In additon to anarchism, the collection's strengths include:
civil liberties (with an emphasis on racial minorities), socialism, communism,
colonialism and imperialism, American labor history through the 1930's, the
IWW, the Spanish Civil War, sexual freedom, women's liberation, gay liberation,
the underground press, and student protest. Since 2000, the collection has also
included the National Transgender Library & Archive. The Labadie Collection
contains 120 manuscript collections, 1,000 photographs, 50,000 books and 8,000
periodicals (including nearly 800 currently received titles), over 6,000 subject
vertical files, and several hundred posters and buttons.
[Return to Top]