KENTUCKY
Williams-Nichols
Collection
Address: University of Louisville
Ekstrom Library - Special Collections
Belknap Campus
Louisville, KY 40292
Phone: (502) 636-0935 (David Williams) or (502) 852-6762 (Delinda Buie,
curator)
Contact: Delinda Buie or David Williams
Email: KyArchives@aol.com
Hours: 10-4, M-F.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Williams-Nichols Collectionwas founded by David Williams in November of
1982. In June 2001 it was tranferred to the University of Louisville's Ekstrom
Library, Special Collections.
Information about holdings
Books: Over 3,004
Manuscripts: One file drawer, one storage box
Organizational records: contained in three file cabinets of clippings and other
print materials
Printed material: over 2,000 titles; 25,000 copies of print publications.
Clippings/vertical files: 15 4-drawer file cabinets
Objects/ephemera: 500, including buttons, bumperstickers, matchbooks covers,
t-shirts, etc.
Film/Video/Sound: Approx. 500 videotapes, audiotapes, CDs, DVDs, albums
Photographs: 1000+
Other holdings/notes: 1500+ buttons, bumperstickers, posters, matchbook covers, t-shirts, other assorted ephemera; Theatrical programs, entertainment programs
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
1950's to the present. National and international, with a focus on regional.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Community Health Trust , Fairness Campaign, Gays and Lesbians United for Equality,
Dignity-Louisville, other local AIDS organizations, LAMBDA Louisville, Louisville
P-FLAG and many other Kentucky-based groups. Also contains the Jeffery Wasson
files (Wasson successfully challenged the state sodomy law in1992, and his case
has been used since then to strike down similar laws in other states); and David
Williams Papers (1963 - present).
Collecting interests
National in scope, with special emphasis on GLBT history in Kentucky, Indiana,
Ohio, and Tennessee.
Use requirements
Open to the general public.
Services
Reference assistance on site, telephone reference, and Internet reference (email/web).
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
University of Louisville Minerva web site.
Additionally, the archives maintains a list of books (by author) and periodicals, videotapes, audio material, clippings
files, and photo envelope titles. The clothing and other apparel list includes
context in which it was worn, purchased, or donated.
News about collections
Publicizes acquisitions of major importance in the statewide gay and lesbian
newspaper, The Letter.
[Return to Top]