ILLINOIS
Charles
Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections
Location: Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2300
Phone: (847) 491-2895 Fax: (847) 491-8306
Contact: Scott Krafft
Email: s-krafft@northwestern.edu
Internet address: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/spec
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm; Sat: 8:30 am - 12 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes, but requires some assistance
History
Part of Northwestern University.
Holdings summary
There are some 4,000 women's periodicals including a great many lesbian titles,
largely from 1965 to the present. Our Women's Monographic Collection contains
a wide range of materials on lesbians and a large ephemera collection that also
includes lesbian materials. Our Gay Collection is adding historical periodicals
(1930's, 1940's ), monographs and ephemera at an increasing rate.
Particularly lesbian materials.
Use requirements
No special requirements.
Services
Research space, copying, exhibitions, reference assistance on site, telephone
reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Exhibit loans are rare.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
There are in-house guides to the Women's Ephemera Files and to special single-subject
issues of journals, and thematic guides to many of the women's journals generally.
Monograph and serial holdings are cataloged on Northwestern's online catalog,
NCAT.
News about collections
A Women's Collection Newsletter is published sporadically.
Gerber/Hart
Library
Location: 1127 West Granville Ave.
Chicago, IL 60660-2012
Phone: (773) 381-8030; Fax: (773) 883-3078
Contact: Russell Kracke
Email: info@gerberhart.org
Internet address: http://www.gerberhart.org
Hours: Mon-Tue: 6-9 pm; Fri-Sun: 12-4 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Gerber/Hart Library was brought into existence in January 1981 as a joint
project of the Gay Academic Union-Chicago Chapter, Gay Horizons, and the Chicago
Gay and Lesbian History Project. The organization, spearheaded by Gregory
Sprague, achieved independent status on November 20, 1981. First christened
"The Midwest Gay and Lesbian Archive and Library," in April 1981 the library
changed its name to "The Henry Gerber-Pearl M. Hart Library" in honor of two
gay activists from the 1920s.
Mission statement: The Gerber/Hart Library and Archives believes knowledge
is key to dispelling homophobia. A lesbian and gay library, archives, and
cultural center, G/H is dedicated to meeting the information needs of its
unique community in a safe atmosphere that promotes research, exploration,
and discovery. G/H's programming policies reflect the diversity and rich history
of the lesbian and gay community. A permanent institution, G/H is committed
to the sound management of its resources.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: approx. 14 cubic ft.
Organizational records: approx. 44 cubic ft.
Printed material: 843 linear ft. and approx. 106 cubic ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 25 linear ft. and approx. 27 cubic ft.
Objects/ephemera: 12 cubic ft.
Film/Video/Sound: 17 cubic ft.
Photographs: 2 cubic ft.
Microfilm: 11 units
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
G/H's monograph stacks contain materials pre- and post-Stonewall. The periodical
collections limit themselves to Chicago, Illinois, the Midwest (Ill., Ind.,
Ohio, Ky., Mo., Kans., Nebr., S.Dak., N.Dak., Minn., Iowa, Wis., Mich.) and
international publications.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Organizational materials include mostly Chicago-based organizations. Manuscripts
appear to be the records of Chicagoans.
Collecting interests
Personal papers and records of organizations related to gay, lesbian, bisexual
and transgender community of Chicago, Illinois and the Midwest region of the
United States (Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota,
North Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Michigan).
Use requirements
Anyone can use library materials in the library, but circulating materials
may only borrowed with the purchase of a membership.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), loan agreements
for exhibits, and borrowing privileges for individuals.
Other services/notes:
Books, videos, and cassettes from the circulating stacks can be borrowed.
Check-out length is 2 weeks, 10 books max. Periodicals and archival materials
do not circulate.
G/H sponsors educational programs including: 3 well-established book discussion
groups; an annual "Day Without History" with the Chicago Historical Society,
to commemorate the loss to the world's history due to the AIDS pandemic; and
presentations to school groups, meetings of organizations, and conferences.
G/H played a leading role in organizing the 1994 Lesbian, Gay & Bisexual
History Month. G/H participates in Chicago area community festivals and pride
rallies.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
GH uses the Columbia Online Catalog to access its circulating books, which
includes two categories, Fiction and Non-Fiction. Records are downloaded into
Columbia from OCLC records. Special Collections and Archival materials have
no reference guides up to this point, but SPC books from this point forth
will be cataloged in Columbia. GH is hiring an archivist for 6 months to create
finding aids for archival/manuscript materials. Periodicals are not cataloged
or indexed.
News about collections
Newsletter and web site.
Leather
Archives & Museum
Location: 6418 Greenview Ave.
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: (773) 761-9200
Contact: Rick Storer, Executive Director
Email: archives@leatherarchives.org
Internet address: http://www.leatherarchives.org
Hours: Regular hours are about to be expanded; please call for details.
History
The Leather Archives & Museum is dedicated to preserving a record of the
Leather/SM/Fetish Community: our lifestyles, our communities, our achievements,
our history. In 1992, Chuck Renslow (creator of the nation's first leather bar,
Chicago's Gold Coast, and the Executive Producer of the International Mr. Leather
Contest) asked several leather men and women to join him in forming the Leather
Archives & Museum. First in 1993, and again in 1994 and 1995, LA&M presented
an exhibition of Leather artifacts in a conference room at the Congress Hotel
during the International Mr. Leather Weekend. In November of 1996 the LA&M
moved into new headquarters and opened its first permanent public exhibit space.
The new space also houses the archival and research collections, making them
accessible to serious students. Leatherman Joseph W. Bean arrived in the summer
of 1997 to become the first official curator of the LA&M.
Holdings summary
There is a rapidly growing collection of artifacts and memorabilia, as well
as archival materials from individuals and organizations. It is almost exclusively
a post-World War II collection.
Collecting interests
The policy of the
Leather Archives and Museum is to collect and expend its resources in the storage,
preservation, restoration and exhibition of the artifacts and evidence of Leather/SM/Fetish
lives, lifestyles and organizations, including but not limited to fraternal
and commercial organizations, without regard to sexuality, race, gender, orientation
or age-group representation.
Use requirements
[None noted.]
Comments about
access/use:
Access conditions are about to be expanded; please call for details.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network
Address: Chicago Theological Seminary
5757 S. University Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637-1507
Phone: (773) 322-0290
Contacts: Mark Bowman, Project Coordinator; James Carson, Archivist;
Doris Malkmus, Archivist
Email: info@lgbtran.org
Internet address: http://www.lgbtran.org
Collecting areas: The LGBTRAN can best be viewed as a "virtual" archives.
We serve as a resource for LGBT religious leaders and group on determining how
to preserve their historical records. we then provide an information clearinghouse
for these archival collections in a central electronic directory for the use
of historians, researchers and other interested persons. Extensive information
on the history LGBT religious movements is available on our web site. This group's
overarching purpose is to ensure the preservation and accessibility of the voices
and experiences of LGBT religious leaders and organizations.
[Return to Top]