DISTRICT
OF COLUMBIA
George Washington University, Gelman Library, Special Collections and University Archives
Address: 2130 H St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20052
Phone: (202) 994-7549
E-mail: mailto:speccoll@gwu.edu
Internet address: http://www.gwu.edu/gelman/spec/index.html
Contact: Jennifer King jenking @gwu.edu or Steven Mandeville-Gamble stevenmg @gwu.edu
Hours: Mon. 10 a.m. - 8 p.m., Tues - Fri. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
History:
Information
about holdings: The Special Collections and University Archives collect and preserve materials relating to the history of the District of Columbia, focusing on Washington, D.C.'s diverse communities and its role as the nation's capital. The Washingtoniana Collection in particular documents the city's political, economic, social and cultural history. These historical materials cover the time period 1814 through 2005 with the bulk of the records falling within 1920-2000.
As part of this collecting mission, Special Collections and University Archives actively seeks out and acquires the papers of prominent gay men, lesbians, and other members of LGBTQ communities who have had significant impacts on the cultural, political or social fabric of the Wasington, D.C. metropolitan area.
The collections are composed of the personal papers of individuals, photographic collections, family papers, and organizational records.
Time periods/geographical regions documented
Holdings are specific to the metropolitan D.C. area and cover the period 1967
through 2000.
Significant people/organizations/subjects documented
Joan E. Biren Photographs, 1971-1991; Robert Dardano Papers, 1986-2000; Tacie Dejanikus Papers, 1967-1992;
Gay and Lesbian Education Fund Records, 1977-1994;
GW Pride Records, undated;
Video Free Earth Production Company Records, 1971-1991;
William Wilson Papers, 1978-1997.
Collecting interests
Special Collections and University Archives actively seeks out and acquires the papers of prominent individuals and organizations within the LGBTQ communities who have had significant impacts on the cultural, political or social fabric of the Wasington, D.C. metropolitan area.
Use requirements
Special Collections and University Archives is open to all researchers. The collections are non-circulating. All materials must be used in the Special Collections Reading Room. Much of the material in Special Collections & University Archives is housed off-site and will require additional time for retrieval. Please call to inquire about availability.
[Return to Top]
The
Rainbow History Project
Address:
1225 I St NW, Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20008
Phone: (202) 907-9007
E-mail: info@rainbowhistory.org.
Internet address: http://www.rainbowhistory.org
Contact: Mark Meinke (mark@rainbowhistory.org) or John Olinger (admin@rainbowhistory.org)
Hours: By appointment only. Open to students, researchers, instructors, and the interested public. Many of the documents and images are available through the virtual archives maintained on the organization's website.
History:
Mark Meinke or John Olinger
Founder: Rainbow History was organized on November 4, 2000 by Mark Meinke who convened a group of five co-founders. The mission of Rainbow History is to collect, preserve, and promote the history and culture of metropolitan Washington, DC's GLBTQ community. Bylaws and tax information are available on the website at http://www.rainbowhistory.org/Aboutus.htm.
Information
about holdings:
Rainbow History uses its website as a virtual archive for important documents, images, and research that it wishes to make widely available to the GLBTQ community, reasearchers, and interested parties.
Collections assembled by Bruce Pennington (GLF, Stonewall Nation Media Collective,
BWMT-DC) and David Aiken (primarily materials assembled for his articles in
the Advocate), and a small collection of DC Lesbian Avenger materials.
Pennington materials include 1/4" reeel to reel broadcasts of the Frineds
radio program (1972-1981) and a collection of t-shirts from direct action
groups.
Aiken collection includes extensive clipping collection on gender and racial
bias, sodomy laws, etc.
Extent of Manuscripts: Personal papers of David Aiken, Eva Freund, Paul Kuntzler, Bruce Pennington: 1 box (15x12x10) each
Extent of Audiovisual Materials: Friends Radio (1973-1982) collection of 1/4" reel-to-reel broadcast tapes (310 tapes), Joan E Biren collection of lesbian and women's music audiotapes (90 tapes).
Extent of Records: Corporate records of Gay Women's Alternative (2 boxes), National Coalition of Black Gays (1 box), Mattachine Society of Washington (1 file box), Gertrude Stein Democratic Club (1 folder). Miscellaneous papers of the East Coast Homophile Organization, Eastern Regional Conference of Homophile Organizations, the Washington Academy Awards (drag).
Extent of Photographs: Jack Nichols' photo collection gay activism of the 60s). Patsy Lynch photo collection (marches on Washington, AIDS protests, Pride events). Robert Dardano Pride photos.
Extent of Books: Robert Summersgill collection of Mattachine Review, One, the Ladder, Vector and related publications.
The Furies newspaper volumes 1 and 2.
Blacklight, 1979 - 1983.
BLK, individual issues.
The Washington Blade, 1975 - 2005
Metro Weekly, incomplete collection 1991 - 2007.
Washington Academy Awards event programs, 1976 - 2007.
Extent of Ephemera: AIDS and activist t-shirts, 1985 - 1995. Buttons and pins, local and national events. Bar tokens. PFLAG-DC march and picket signs.
Time periods/geographical regions documented
Holdings are specific to the metropolitan D.C. area and cover the period 1961
through present.
Significant people/organizations/subjects documented
Mattachine Society of Washington; Mattachine Society, Inc.; Franklin E. Kameny & Kameny for Congress campaign; Gay Liberation Front-DC; Gay Activists Alliance/DC; National Coalition of Black Gays; Third World Conference, 1979; March on Washington, 1979; Gay Women's Open House; the Furies collective; Friends Radio; Speakeasy radio program; Lesbian Avengers-DC; ENLACE; Summary of Lesbian/Gay Content: please see the Rainbow History website at www.rainbowhistory.org.
Collecting interests
Not currently collecting because of a lack of space and archival expertise.
Use requirements
Oral histories are available on signing of a release form and provision of
audiotapes for copying. The narratives are not yet transcribed.
Exhibition Loans
Lending and access agreements required.
Borrowing Policy
At Rainbow History's discretion.
Finding Aids / Indices
Several finding aids are listed on the website.
Updates
New additions are listed on the website and in the annual report.
[Return to Top]