CALIFORNIA
AIDS
History Project
Location: University of California San Francisco Library
and Center for Knowledge Management
Archives and Special Collections
AIDS History Project
530 Parnassus Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94123-0840
Phone: (415) 476-8112
Contact: Lisa Mix, Manager, Archives and Special Collections
Email: archives-info@library.ucsf.edu
Internet address: http://www.library.ucsf.edu/collres/archives/
Hours: Tue-Wed, by appointment only.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The AIDS History Project (AHP) is a collaboration of historians, archivists,
AIDS activists, and others, to preserve the history of the AIDS epidemic in
San Francisco. The current phase is sponsored by the University of California,
Library and Center for Knowledge Management, Archives and Special Collections.
Cooperating partners in the project include the San Francisco Public Library
and the Gay and Lesbian Historical Society of Northern California. These institutions,
along with UCSF, will preserve and maintain the materials collected as a result
of this phase of the project.
The primary objective of this phase of the AIDS History Project is to secure
documentation of the response to the AIDS crisis in the city of San Francisco
during the first thirteen years, particularly the development and effect of
community based organizations and activist coalitions. It is our intent to acquire,
arrange, and describe the most fertile and most vulnerable records from these
agencies, and deposit them in local cooperating repositories open to all researchers.
In addition, AHP encourages preservation of records that cannot be accessioned
during the project's lifetime. Additional phases of the AIDS History Project
are currently being considered. A natural area in which the AIDS History Project
could expand is documentation of the community research effort.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: yes
Organizational records: yes
Printed material: yes
Objects/ephemera: yes
Film/Video/Sound: yes
Photographs: yes
Other holdings/notes: 132.5 cubic ft. including items marked above.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
The AIDS History Project spans the first 13 years of the AIDS epidemic, ca.1981-1994,
within the San Francisco Bay Area.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Organizations: San Francisco Department of Public Health, AIDS Office (at
SFPL), AIDS Treatment News, AIDS Service Providers Association, Bay Area HIV
Support & Education Services, GAPA Community HIV Project, Healing Alternatives
Foundation, Mobilization Against AIDS, Multicultural Training Resource Center,
National Lawyers Guild, National Task Force on AIDS Prevention, San Francisco
AIDS Foundation, San Francisco General Hospital AIDS Program, Third World
AIDS Advisory Task Force, Women's AIDS Network, AIDS/ARC Vigil Records (at
GLHS), AIDS Healing Alliance (at GLHS), and ACT-UP San Francisco (at GLHS).
Individuals (indirectly documented): Sandra Hernandez, M.D.; Paul Volberding,
M.D.; Constance Woofsy, M.D.; and John Ziegler, M. D.
Collecting interests
Additional phases of the AIDS History Project are currently being considered.
A natural area in which the AIDS History Project could expand is documentation
of the community research effort.
Use requirements
[None noted.]
Comments about
access/use:
Certain categories of documentation carry restrictions on access. Certain
researchers are required to pay reading room and other fees.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements for
exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Special services associated with the reproduction and use of rare and unique
materials.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Finding aids exist for all of the AIDS History Project Collections and are
available in the department and online through our web site. MARC records
available in the UCSF catalog and MELVYL (UC system-wide catalog).
News about collections
Collection updates will be available on the web site.
The Bisexual
Archives
Address: c/o Gay and Lesbian Historical Society of San Diego
P.O. Box 40389
San Diego, CA 92164
Phone: (619) 260-1522 Fax: (619) 260-1522
Contact: Sharon Parker, Board President; Dennis Fiordaliso, Board Treasurer
Internet address: http://www-rohan.sdsu.edu/~clgoyne/lghssd/bisexualarch.html
Hours: Sun: 11 am - 3 pm, and by appointment. Closed holiday weekends.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Founded by Fritz Klein and Regina Reinhardt in 1996, the Bisexual Archives
is housed and mentored by the Lesbian and Gay Historical Society of San Diego.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 2 ft.
Organizational records: 1 ft.
Printed material: 5 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 1 ft.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Regina Reinhardt (Collection #96-1), Fritz Klein (Collection #96-2).
Collecting interests
Any period or region.
Use requirements
Unrestricted.
Services
Research space, copying, and audiovisual facilities.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
There is a collection list.
News about collections
Newsletter of the Lesbian and Gay Historical Society of San Diego.
California
State University, Northridge
Location: Special Collections/Archives
University Library
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8326
Phone: (818) 677-2597 Fax: (818) 677-2676
Contact: Tony Gardner, Curator Special Collections and Archives
Email: tony.gardner@csun.edu
Internet address: http://library.csun.edu/spcoll/hbspcoll.html
Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 am - 4:30 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Human Sexuality Collection was established in 1973 with the acquisition
of the Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Human Sexuality by the University
Library. It supports the research and instructional interests of students
and faculty and the activities of the Center for Sex Research on campus.
Information about holdings
Printed material: 500 titles
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
All time periods and geographical regions.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Periodicals from the 1960s and 1970s.
Collecting interests
All areas of human sexuality
Use requirements
Processed and cataloged material open to all researchers.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
All processed materials are cataloged online through OCLC.
Exodus Trust Archives of Erotology
1523 Franklin Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone: (415) 928-1133
Contact: Ted McIlvenna
Email: drted@iashs.edu
Internet address: http://www.iashs.edu
Collecting areas: Twenty six specialty libraries which include books,
art, film, erotic memorabilia, manuscripts and dissertations.
Gay,
Lesbian, Bisexual, Trangender Historical Society
Location: 657 Mission St. #300
San Francisco, CA 94105
Address: P.O. Box 424280
San Francisco, CA 94142
Phone: (415) 777-5455 Fax: (415) 777-5576
Contact:Kim Klausner, Library and Archives Director
Email: archives@glbthistory.org
Internet address: http://
www.glbthistory.org
Hours: Sat, Sun: 2-5 pm, and by appointment.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The GLBT Historical Society was founded in 1985 by members of the San Francisco
Lesbian and Gay History Project, primarily historians, librarians and others
interested in preserving the SF queer history that no one was collecting at
the time. A limited number of processed manuscript collections are on deposit
at the San Francisco Public Library to allow greater researcher access.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 200+ collections
Organizational records: 100+ collections
Printed material: 150 volumes (reference only); 2,300 periodical titles.
Clippings/vertical files: 6 ft.
Objects/ephemera: 100,000+
Film/Video/Sound: 505 ft.
Photographs: 100 ft.
Microfilm: 108 reels
Other holdings/notes: Gowns, costumes, t-shirts, and banners, fine art, graphic
art, artifacts.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Northern California, all time periods, but the vast majority is post-WWII.
The collections are especially rich in material from the San Francisco Bay
Area.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Del Martin and Phyllis Lyon, Daughters of Bilitis, Don Lucas, Mattachine Society,
Council on Religion and the Homosexual, Community United Against Violence,
San Francisco Women's Building, Louis Sullivan, Leonard Matlovich, Maggi Rubenstein,
Crawford Barton, Finocchio's memorabilia, many small collections documenting
AIDS activism and other queer activism. This is just a sampling of the many
collections available at GLHS.
Collecting interests
Organizational records, personal papers, ephemera, and periodicals relating
to the LGBT history and culture of Northern California and beyond.
Use requirements
Open to the public
on weekends, but to members only during the week.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Paid reference and research available.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
There are finding aids to a limited number of manuscript collections. An incomplete
annotated guide to manuscript collections is available. There is a comprehensive
database to periodical holdings.
News about collections
There is an occasionally published newsletter highlighting collections and articles
on queer history, especially of Northern California. The Historical Society
website is updated regularly.
June
L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
Location: 626 N. Robertson Blvd.
West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone: (310) 659-2478 Fax: (310) 659-2478
Contact: Angela Brinskele
Email: mazerarchives@earthlink.net
Internet address: http://www.mazerlesbianarchives.org
Hours: Tues 12- 3 pm; First Sunday of the month Noon-5pm Also by appointment.
Wheelchair Access: no
History
The collection was founded in 1981 in Oakland as the West Coast Lesbian Collections.
In 1987 the collection moved to Southern California, under the auspices of the
Connexxus Women's Center-Centro de Mujeres, and was subsequently named for its
first coordinator's partner: community activist and collection supporter June
L. Mazer. Since the dissolution of Connexxus in 1990, the Mazer Collection has
not been associated with any other institution or organization.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 151 ft. personal and organizational papers
Printed material: 4,000 books; 1,000 periodical titles
Clippings/vertical files: 20 4-drawer filing cabinets (clippings, fliers, etc.)
Objects/ephemera: 4 small boxes (games, matchbook covers, etc.), and mugs, small
statues, etc. on display
Film/Video/Sound: 24 ft. videos; 24 ft. records; 200 audiotapes
Photographs: 4 ft.
Other holdings/notes: 40 1940s-60s baseball/softball uniforms; ca.200 posters
and other art objects; 18.5 ft. boxes of t-shirts; 20 frames (mostly 12 in. x 16 in.)
of buttons.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Primarily United States, 1940s to the present, with a major emphasis on the
West Coast.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Feminist and lesbian-feminist material; Feminist Economic Network; Diana Press;
other lesbian/women's publications such as Broomstick, and Telewoman; OLOC (Old
Lesbians Organizing for Change).
Collecting interests
Anything lesbian-related, with an emphasis on letters, diaries/journals, unpublished
personal and organizational papers, photos, home movies, periodicals, Lesbian
ephemera, and pre-1970 books from the western United States.
Use requirements
On-site use only.
Comments about access/use:
Access to some material is restricted due to donor request or fragility of the
material. Visitors should call to confirm they are open.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, and loan agreements for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Web page, off-site exhibits at events, cultural/educational programs and events,
slide shows, speakers, and newsletter.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
In the process of choosing cataloging (MARC-compatible) software that will make
information available online. The majority of books, records and tapes are cataloged
in a database. The periodicals are listed, by issue, in notebooks.
News about collections
Semi-annual newsletter and web page.
Lambda
Archives of San Diego
Address: P.O. Box 40389
San Diego, CA 92164
Phone: (619) 260-1522 Fax: (619) 260-1522
Contact: Frank Nobilletti, Board President, 2006
Internet:
http://LambdaArchives.org
Hours: Sun: 11 am - 3 pm, and by appointment. Closed holiday weekends.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The society was founded in December of 1987 by Jess Jessop and other San Diego
gay and lesbian activists as the Lesbian and Gay Archives. There were no known
predecessors in San Diego, and it is not associated with any other institutions
or organizations.
Holdings summary
The holdings mostly document the San Diego region (there is some material from
Baja California), 1960 to the present. Some material dates from the 1940s and
1950s.
Military: Bridge Wilson (5 ft.), Perry Watkins (.5 ft.), Jim Woodward (3 ft.),
and Gary Rees (.33 ft.).
Politics: Chris Kehoe (11 ft.), and Neil Goode (2 ft.).
Organizations: Save Our Teachers - No on 64 (.5 ft.), AIDS Project (96.5 ft),
Gay Academic Union [through 1984] (14 ft.), The [Gay and Lesbian] Center (1.5
ft.), Lesbian and Gay Historical Society (4 ft.).
Local and Miscellaneous: Jess Jessop (5 ft.), Bernie Michels (3 ft.), Bruce
Kamerling (.33 ft.), Albert Bell (4 ft.), and Steven Zeeland (1.5 ft.).
The breakdown by format is: 55 ft. of manuscripts, 37 ft. of organizational
records, 100 ft. of printed material (59 ft. non-local, 40 ft. local), 12 ft.
of vertical files, thousands of ephemeral items, 16 ft. of video, 13 ft. of
audio, and 14 ft. of photographs.
Collecting interests
Emphasis on the history and activities of LGBT people in the San Diego County/Tijuana
(Baja, CA, Norte, Mexico) region. Also includes information on LGBT culture
worldwide.
Use requirements
Open to the public; a few collections have restrictions.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, and loan agreements for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
Only minimal A/V and phone reference is available. Mostly only copies are allowed
out for exhibit loan.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Lists of books, periodicals, and manuscript collections are available. Clippings
and vertical files are organized by our own authority list. Finding aids available
to a small number of manuscript collections. Video and flat files are currently
being cataloged.
News about collections
The newsletter lists recent donations.
Lavender Library,
Archives and Cultural Exchange
Location:
1414 21st Street
Sacramento, CA 95815
Phone: (916) 492-0558
Contact: Michael Colby
E-mail: info@lavenderlibrary.org
Internet Address: http://www.lavenderlibrary.org
Hours: Thursdays
7-9 p.m.; Friday 6-8 p.m.; Saturday 12-6 p.m.; Sunday 12-6 p.m.
Wheelchair Accessible:
yes
History:
Incorporated as a 501(c)3 independent
California non-profit organization on October 6, 1998, LLACE first opened its
doors to the public in January of 1999. In October of 2000, it moved to its
current, larger location. LLACE was also instrumental in the first ever LGBT
exhibit in the California State Capitol in June of 2002.
Information about
Holdings:
Manuscript material: 2 cubic feet
Organizational records: 5 cubic feet
Photographs: 1 cubic foot
Books: 5,000
Journals: 60 cubic feet
Microfilm: 9 reels
Clippings or vertical files: 4 drawers
Objects and ephemera: 1 cubic foot
Costumes and props: 4 cubic feet
Video and DVD: 300 titles
Time period/geographical
regions documented:
Holdings
cover the greater Sacramento area from circa the 1970's to the present
Significant people/organizations/subjects
covered:
Le Theater
Lesbien, Court
of the Great Northwest Imperial Empire (drag court), Sacramento Gay and Lesbian
International Film Festival, and River City Business Association.
Collecting Interests:
LLACE accepts
donations which fit into our collection policy on a regular basis. We accept
books, periodicals, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, ephemera, posters,
letters, etc. The collection policy of LLACE reflects our mission, which is
to collect, preserve and celebrate the history and culture of the lesbian, gay,
bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community, with special emphasis on the community
in the Sacramento area. While our emphasis is on LGBT material, there are times
when there is a need to collect material that is not specifically LGBT in content
(e.g. general reference works, feminist material, spirituality, self-help).
Since material considered erotic is an expression of our community, we will
collect erotic material.
Access and Use:
On-site
use of the material is open to the public. Checkout of
circulating (non-archival) materials requires an annual donation, either monetary
or in volunteer hours.
Services:
Research
space, reference assistance, photocopier, telephone reference, VCR and DVD player,
will loan materials for exhibit.
Indices to the
collection:
Books and
videos are cataloged in a MARC database. Periodical
holdings are reflected in CatalogQ (http://www.catalogq.net).
Lists of all materials held appear on the website.
Oakland
Museum of California
Location: 1000 Oak St.
Oakland, CA 94607-4892
Phone: (510) 238-3842 Fax: (510) 238-6579
Contact:Aimee Klask
Email: aklask@museumca.org
Internet address: http://www.museumca.org
Hours: Thu: 1-4 pm
Wheelchair Access: Museum: yes; Museum on Line section (archives, 2nd floor):
no.
History
The Oakland Public Museum was founded in 1910 and joined with the Snow Museum
and Municipal Art Gallery to form the Oakland Museum in 1969. The name changed
ca.1994 to the Oakland Museum of California.
Information about holdings
Printed material: 16 items
Objects/ephemera: 6 items
Film/Video/Sound: 1 sound recording; 1 video.
Photographs: 1 photo
Other holdings/notes: 24 garments and accessories re: [drag] performances of
Jose Sarria and Lester Lamont, 6 posters, 2 comic books.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
San Francisco Bay Area, 1930s to 1990s.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Jose Sarria, Lester Lamont.
Collecting interests
Keeping with the museum's California theme, we have a collection of costumes
from the legendary drag performer Jose Sarria and material from the annual San
Francisco Lesbain, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Pride Parade. In addition, we
are currently collecting artifacts from the queer community in California.
Use requirements
[None noted.]
Services
Research space, copying, exhibitions, reference assistance on site, and loan
agreements for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Collections on Museum's database: ARGUS.
News about collections
No information is sent out; however, new material appears on our ARGUS system.
ONE Institute
and Archive
Location: 909 West Adams Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone: (213) 741-0094
E-mail:
AskONE@oneinstitute.org
Internet Address:
http://www.oneinstitute.org
Contacts:Stuart
Timmons, Executive Director
History: Two pioneer American gay leaders figure prominently in the history
of ONE Institute and Archives. They are w. Dorr Legg and Jim Kepner, both renowned
pioneers in modern American gay and lesbian history. In 1942, nineteen-year-old
Kepner came away empty-handed from the San Francisco Public Library after looking
for books relevant to his newly discovered homosexuality. Undaunted, he embarked
on a search of used bookstores, where he encountered a number of well-worn texts,
which often had to be read "between the lines' to find the clues to gay
heritage. This was the beginning of a personal quest to collect every relevant
book, magazine article or clipping he might encounter, from that day forward.
In 1951, he brought his growing collection to Los Angeles, where he continued
the pursuit.
A year later, also
in Los Angeles, Martin Block, Don Slater, Tony Reyes, Dale Jennings and a small
group of others founded ONE, Incoporated to publish ONE Magazine, the nation's
first publication advocating a pro-homosexual stance. By 1953 it was appearing
at newsstands on both coasts. In 1954, the U.S. Post Office confiscated an issue,
declaring it obscene. Against all odds, ONE fought back, finally in 1958 winning
a landmark Supreme Court decision for gay and lesbian press freedom. Both Kepner
and Legg wrote many articles for ONE Magazine under alaises. ONE, Inc. soon
initiated a range of additional services for the gay and lesbian community,
including peer counseling, legal referrals, travel excursions and, starting
in 1956, classes in homophile studies. Kepner helped build and teach some of
those and was instrumental in starting the ONE library. In 1958 ONE began publishing
ONE Institute Quarterly, the first scholarly journal devoted to homosexuality.
In 1971, Kepner made his personal collection accessible to others by appointment
and named it the Western Gay Archives.
During the 1970's
many universities were following ONE's lead in starting gay and lesbian studies
programs. Later, in 1981, ONE, Inc. began offering graduate level courses for
Masters and Doctoral degree programs in Homophile Studies. Today programs at
Harvard, Yale, the University of Chicago and other institutions often make use
of the original syllabus established by ONE.
By 1986 the National
Gay Archives had grown in size and scope to become the Natalie Barney/Edward
Carpenter Library of the International Gay & Lesbian Archives. That year
the expanded Archives moved to a building in West Hollywood, while overflow
materials were stored elsewhere.
From 1955 to 1995,
ONE staged well-attended annual educational conferences which drew prominent
speakers. From its beginning the Archives maintained a busy speakers bureau
and mounted traveling exhibits. Both organization participated in Lesbian and
Gay pride events, and the IGLA Timeline exhibits were diplayed at Marches on
Washington and New York's Stonewall 25 celebration.
For several years
members of both ONE and IGLA had talked of merging the two organizations, but
it wasn't until late 1994 that discussions began in earnest. Each organization
has brought a wealth of unique materials, talented personnel and rich history
to the new entity. Unfortunately, Dorr Legg did not see it become a reality,
having died on July 27, 1994 at age 89. He remained a Secretary-Treasurer of
ONE, Inc. until his death. Jim Kepner cntinued to serve as ONE Institute's Board
of Directors, acting as its resident historian and being sought out regularly
by visiting researchers and as a speaker. In November 1997, Jim underwent emergency
intestinal surgery and succumbed the following day, November 15, 1997. They
are bothe greatly missed and their accomplishments will long be remembered by
many.
Mission Statement:
ONE Institute & Archives honors the past, celebrated the present, and enriches
the future of all lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered people. We foster
acceptance of sexual and gender diversity by supporting education and research
about our heritage and experience worldwide. ONE Institute & Archives is
dedicated to collecting, preserving, documenting, studying, and communicating
our history, our challenges, and our aspirations.
Information about
holdings: ONE Institute & Archives' library is international with a
special focus on the GLBT history of Los Angeles. The Library includes the following
collections:
Archives & Manuscripts:
Collections
are selected for preservation in the ONE Institute & Archives primarily
because of their historical research value to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered
people. Historical collections and manuscripts include memorabilia, records,
printed documents, photographic images, maps, graphic materials, and other historically
significant materials in toher physical forms. More than 43,000 distinct files
may be found in our organization's holdings.
Audiovisual: The archive's
collection of materials include over 1,500 films, over 3000 videos (including
10 years of videotaped lectures from ONE, Inc.'s Lecture Series), and over 1,000
audiotapes. Interviews with many pioneers of the glbt movement are included
from the IGLA interviews with notable gays and lesbians from Los Angeles and
around the country.
Books: The main library
collection includes over 19,700 books, including 3,000 in the subject collections
(see below). There are many rare and unusuals books in the library, some of
which may be the only copies in existence. The Library Committee continues to
acquire reference and research titles, and new books are added daily, thanks
to the generous contributions of donors.
Magazines/journals: The periodicals collection includes more than 6,850 different
periodical titles, including many recent glbt titles as well as rare issues
of the earliest American queer publications such as the lesbian newsletter Vice
Versa from the 1940's, and complete runs of ONE magazine and the Mattachine
Review from the early 1950's. The collection includes over 500 magazines in
more than 25 different foreign languages from places such as France, Germany,
Russia, Brazil, the Netherlands, Japan, Spain, Italy, and many other nations.
ONE's collections includes some of the earliest gay European publications such
as the Arcadie and Der Kreis as well as significant runs of Gai Pied, SEK, Homologie,
Der Gay Krant, Revolt, and Vennen.
Significant people/subjects/organiziations documented: AIDS History Project
- ONE's extensive collection of AIDS related materials date back to the very
beginning of the epidemic and were gathered from every conceivable worldwide
source. At present the AIDS History Project has over 200,000 items. Lesbian
Legacy Collection - Our goal is to locate, gather, organize, preserve and make
accessible materials in any medium, from any time, place and location, that
are specific to or related to lesbian history. We have a special committment
to gather lesbians of color materials and images of lesbian history, and to
place our holdings and to help other collections place their holdings on the
Internet as a way of promoting accessibility. Performing Arts Collection - In
addition to incorporating materials from film, theater, dance, performance art
and music, the Performing Arts Collection is currently integrating the papers
and memorabilia of a avriety of individuals from these disciplines. These include
the files of Ken Dickmann, noted theatre and film critic and activist, as well
as material on James Carroll Pickett, Micheal Kearns and composer Tom Wilson
Weinberg. Twice Blessed/Jewish Collections - Everything gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered
and Jewish. Founded by the late Johnny Abush in Toronto, Canada in 1991 and
brought to Los Angeles in 2001 thanks to generous contrinutions from our supporters.
Other: Blue Max Motorcycle Club organizational papers; Dignity Los AAANgeles
organizational appers;Metropolitan Community Church, Los Angeles organizational
papers; ONE, Inc. papers; Mattachine Society organizational papers; Milt Sandiford
Mississippi Archive; Morris Kight papers; Lombardi-Nash papers; The Gay and
Lesbian Community Services Center Los Angeles archives.
Collecting Interest: ONE Institute & Archives collects materials
that are primarily about or which otherwise reflect on or impact the experience,
history, lives, heritage and interests of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered
people. Included are materials both by and about gay, lesbian, bisexual and
transgendered people. Works about subjects or individuals of particular interest
to gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered people, though lacking a specific
glbt focus, are also collected. In addition, more general works on human sexuality,
gender studies, sex and society, sexual discrimination, sexual rights, sexual
health issues, including AIDS, etc. are collected to the extent taht they provide
a broader intellectual context and support for the more specialized glbt aspects
of the collections.We will collect and retain papers of significant glbt individuals
specifically but will be very highly selective in collecting and retaining papers
from glbt individuals who are not well known or whose papers do not otherwise
have some unique and lasting value for glbt interests. There are no geographical,
chronological, or format limitations on collections.
Services:
research space, reference assistance on site, copying services, telephone reference,
audiovisual facilities, Internet reference, loans for exhibition.
Indices:
Our periodicals, books, and subject files are in an Inmagic database. There
is a computer at the reference desk, and an additional computer station is being
set up for researchers. The archival holdings are being inventoried.
News about collections:
We publish a quarterly bulletin for our members. In the past, new acquisitions
of materials were included in the newsletter but not on a regular basis.
San Francisco Performing
Arts Library & Museum
401 Van Ness Ave, Fourth
floor
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415) 255-4800
Contacts: David Humphrey, Director or Kirsten Tanaka, Head Librarian
Email: Info@sfpalm.org
Internet address: http://www.sfpalm.org
Collecting areas: History of the performing arts in the San Franscisco
Bay Area: dance, music, opera, theater (including mime, puppetry and especially
musical theater), and theatrical design.
San
Francisco Public Library
James C. Hormel Gay and Lesbian Center
Location: 100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415) 557-4566 Fax: (415) 437-4831
Contact: Jim E. Van Buskirk, Program Manager
Email: jvanbuskirk@sfpl.org
Internet: http://sfpl.org/librarylocations/main/glc/glc.htm
Hours: Manuscript collections are accessible through the San Francisco
History Room: Tue, Wed, Thu: 10 am - 6 pm; Fri: 11 am - 5 pm; Sat: 9 am - 5
pm; Sun: 12-5 pm. Access to other materials at the Gay and Lesbian Center is
during regular library hours: Mon.: 10 am - 6 pm; Tue, Wed, Thu: 9 am
- 8 pm; Fri: 11 am - 5 pm; Sat: 9 am - 5 pm; Sun: 12 - 5 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
Announced in October 1991 the Gay and Lesbian Center opened to the public on
April 18, 1996, as part of the main San Francisco Public Library. It maintains
a collection of books, periodicals, videos, sound recordings, photographs, posters,
ephemera, memorabilia, and manuscript collections. In addition to actively soliciting
donations of personal papers and organizational records it is also the physical
repository for selected manuscript collections belonging to the Gay and Lesbian
Historical Society of Northern California.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 460 cubic ft.
Organizational records: 60 cubic ft.
Printed material: 850 ft.
Clippings/vertical files: 10 ft.
Objects/ephemera: 10 ft.
Film/Video/Sound: 100 ft.
Photographs: yes
Microfilm: 50 ft.
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
All time periods, with a concentration on post-1969. Manuscript materials
specifically related to Northern California. Published materials international
in scope, with an attempt to be comprehensive for Northern California.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender communities in Northern California including
Aaron Fricke, Lynn Lonidier, Harvey Milk, Paul Reed , and Randy Shilts. Archival
holdings include: Monica Kehoe, Lynn Lonidier, Marvin Liebman, Harvey
Milk, Federation of Gay Games, Kiki Gallery, Alice B. Toklas Collection -
Letters to Donald H. Frank, and selections from the Gay and Lesbian Historical
Society of Northern California: Louis Graydon Sullivan, Jackie Winnow,
Robert G. DeSantis, Arthur Lazere, Leonard Matlovich, Golden Gate Business
Association, Lesbian Agenda for Action, Len Evans Papers, Charles Thorpe,
People's Fund, Committee to Form Gay/Lesbian Sierrans, Thousand Fingers Cooperative
Crafts Gallery, Scott Bishop, Libertarians for Gay Lesbian Concerns, Joseph
Rose-Azevedo, GLAAD/SFBA, and Old Wives' Tale Bookstore..
Collecting interests
The Gay and Lesbian collections contain unpublished materials focusing on northern
California, while published works are national and international in scope. Particular
attention is paid to materials dealing with people of color, people with disabilities,
youth, elderly, and other traditionally underserved groups. Formats include
books, magazines, manuscripts, films, videos, photographs, posters, recordings,
ephemera, and memorabilia.
Use requirements
Open to the public for on-site reference
Comments about
access/use:
Archival collections available through the San Francisco History Room.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, and loan agreements for exhibits.
Other services/notes:
No materials may be borrowed.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Published materials are available via the SFPL online catalog. Collection level
descriptions of manuscript materials are cataloged in MARC and available in
the SFPL catalog and OCLC. Finding aids to selected collections are available
on-site.
News about collections
There are periodic updates in the online catalog.
Stanford
University, Green Library
Department of Special Collections
Location: Cecil H Green Library
[East Wing, Third floor]
557 Escondido Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305-6004
Phone: (650) 725-3478 Fax: (415) 723-8690
Contact: Glynn Edwards, Manuscripts; John Mustain, Rare Books; Margaret
Kimball, University Archives
Email: speccoll@sulmain.stanford.edu
Internet address: http://garamond.stanford.edu/depts/spc/
Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Department of Special Collections is the principal repository for Stanford's
historical research collections in all formats including printed books, manuscripts,
maps, photographs, and prints. The department's holdings comprise more than
200,000 books and 20 million manuscript items. Strengths of the department's
collections are modern literature, the history and art of the book, the history
of science, continental history and literature, classical literature and philosophy,
children's literature, Mexican American history, and the history of the Stanford
community.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: yes
Organizational records: yes
Printed material: yes
Clippings/vertical files: yes
Objects/ephemera: yes
Film/Video/Sound: yes
Photographs: yes
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Most collections relevant to LGBT archives deal with Stanford University or
alumni, 1972 to the present.
Significant People/organizations/subjects
documented:
Gay and Lesbian Alliance at Stanford and other collections dealing with gay
and lesbian history at Stanford University, Kerrigan Black Papers 1963-1993,
Gerard Koskovich - AIDS Activism publications, and Newton "Bud" Flounders collection
of gay literature (over 3,000 volumes).
Collecting interests
Continuation of collections concerning the gay and lesbian history of Stanford
and from alumni.
Use requirements
Open to scholars and researchers regardless of institutional affiliation.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, reference assistance on site,
telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements for
exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Collection level descriptions are available on Socrates, the Stanford University
catalog, and RLIN. Finding aids and a card catalog are also available, as is
information on the UNICORN web site.
University of California,
Berkeley
Bancroft Library
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
Phone: (510) 642-6481
Email: Bancref@library.berkeley.edu
Internet address: http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/
also http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/gaybears/
History
The Bancroft Library was formed by Hubert Howe Bancroft, a bookseller who came to San Francisco during the Gold Rush. Bancroft's collection was purchased by the University of California in 1905, and has grown into the largest archive on the history of the Pacific West as well as the principal rare books and manuscripts library of U.C. Berkeley. As such, it contains a wealth of material of potential relevance to LGBT scholars, but efforts to collect materials related to sexuality have only been formalized in recent years. In 1992 Bancroft's Regional Oral History Office began interviews for its San Francisco AIDS oral history series. In 1995 librarian William Benemann founded the Gay Bears! Collection in the University Archives, within Bancroft, to document lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender life on the Berkeley campus. In 2000, Bancroft appointed Mr. Benemann as adjunct (and founding) curator of the Sexual Orientation and Social Conflict Collection to document controversial gay-related issues.
Information About Holdings
Approximately 78 linear feet of archival material has been collected as part of the Sexual Orientation and Social Conflict Collection, and some photographic material is present in these collections. Approximately 350 book titles have also been added under this effort.
Bancroft Library has other holdings of potential interest to researchers in LBGT history which are not part of the Sexual Orientation and Social Conflict Collection. (See below.)
Manuscript material (personal papers) Yes
Film, video, or sound Yes
Organization's records Yes
Photographs Yes
Printed (books, journals, etc.) Yes
Microfilm No
Clippings or vertical files No
Time Periods/Geographic Regions Documented
Sexuality material covers the period from the late 19th century to the present. While the emphasis is on California and the West, much of the earlier material has a national focus. The Gay Bears! Collection includes oral history interviews with alumni/ae from the 1940s to the present.
People, Organizations and Subjects Documented
Holdings include the archives of the Sexual Freedom League, the Social Protest Collection, the San Francisco AIDS oral history series, Red Jordan Arobateau papers, Samuel M. Steward (Phil Andros) letters, case files of Crandall v. Wagner (lesbian adoption) and the Baehr Case (same sex marriage in Hawaii), and records of the Stop AIDS Project/San Francisco, Dignity/San Francisco (gay Catholics), GLSTN (Gay, Lesbian and Straight Teachers Network), and Theatre Rhinoceros. Also present is anti-gay material from Mission: America and the Focus on Family. Special collections include sex instruction manuals for boys and young men (1847-1990), early scientific texts on homosexuality (1930s-1950s), and gay-themed books for children and young adults.
Bancroft also holds manuscript, correspondence and/or photographic collections that, while not all LGBT collections per se, are important sources for the study of literary and artistic communities which may be of interest to LGBT historians. These collections include papers and records related to City Lights Books and beat poets, Philip Whalen, Jack Spicer, Langston Hughes, Gertrude Stein, Stephen Spender, Robert Duncan, Noel Sullivan, and Barbara Christian, among others.
Collection Growth
All materials falling to the general category of gay history (pre-1970s), and contemporary material with California or Western focus.
Access Requirements
Open to the public regardless of LGBT content. Must be over 18 or accompanied by an adult. Photo ID required.
Hours
During the academic year, M-F 9 am-5 pm, Sat. 1 pm-5pm. Schedules vary during holidays. See web site for current hours.
Wheelchair Accessible
Yes.
Services
Research space: Yes
Reference assistance on site: Yes
Copying services: Yes
Telephone reference: Yes
Audiovisual facilities: (limited)
Internet reference: (e mail/web)
Exhibitions: Yes
Indexex
All materials cataloged on RLIN and OCLC; folder-level finding aids available for most processed archival collections.
Updating Collection Descriptions
Significant additions are announced in local gay newspapers
University
of California, Los Angeles,
Department of Special Collections
Location: Charles E. Young Research Library
Room A1713
Address: Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1575
Phone: (310) 825-4988 Fax: (310) 206-1864
Email: spec-coll@library.ucla.edu
Internet address: http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/special/scweb/
Hours: Mon-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm, except certain intersession days and during
some special events.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Department of Special Collections was founded in 1946.
Information about holdings
Manuscripts: 500 ft.
Printed material: thousands
Clippings/vertical files: 20 ft.
Objects/ephemera: 200 items
Film/Video/Sound: 250 items
Photographs: thousands
Microfilm: minimal
Time periods/geographical
regions documented:
Primarily the Los Angeles area, but printed materials cover the entire range
of world history.
Significant
People/organizations/subjects documented:
There are published and manuscript materials pertaining to hundreds of prominent
LGBT figures including J. A. Symonds, Gertrude Stein, H. H. Monro, Denton
Welch, Claude McKay, Harry Hay, Morris Kight, Terri de la Pena, Christopher
Isherwood, Don Bachardy, John Rechy, Yannis Tsarouchis, Stathis Orphanos,
Ivy Compton Burnett, Norman Douglas, William Plomer, Anais Nin, William Beckford,
Arthur Rimbaud, Ronald Firbank, George Santayana, Glenway Wescott, Tennessee
Williams, Virginia Woolf, T. H. White, A.E. Housman, Gerald Heard, Eloise
Klein Healy, Paul Monette, Michael Nava, Edouard Roditi, and Howard Moss.
Local minor figures are represented by writers Rudy Thomas Foley and Dan Luckenbill.
The Rudi Gernreich papers contain a small amount of material pertaining to
the first meetings of the Mattachine Society in Los Angeles. Most of these
papers are from literary figures, but for those such as Paul Monette's, other
community activist concerns are documented. The papers of Morris Kight give
insight into the many Los Angeles and international LGBT organizations and
activities, although the papers at UCLA do not document these in a systematic
way.
All important areas are documented to some extent, including psychology. Many
of these studies were begun at UCLA with prominent figures such as Evelyn
Hooker. Early work in transgender studies is documented in the papers of UCLA
psychiatrist Robert Stoller. Special collections also has works of popular
psychology wherein many 20th century works on homosexuality were published,
for example Homo Hill (1963), Homosexuality: The International Disease (1965).
Particularly important in the UCLA holdings are local imprints that contain
hundreds of books in wrappers on popular journalism and psychology and local
travel guides and other guides invaluable to LGBT history, and hundreds of
titles in all genres of popular literature, particularly detective fiction
and erotica.
The history of photography collection contain works by Von Gloeden (in publications)
and works by various photographers: Bernice Abbott, Carl van Vechten, Stathis
Orphanos, etc. UCLA Special Collections also has collections in the areas
of the arts and entertainment, including the gallery records of the Rex Evans
Gallery, owned by Rex Evans and James Weatherford (with documentation and
correspondence pertaining to Cecil Beaton, Don Bachardy, Louis Fox, Sheila
Ross, etc.).
Collecting interests
LGBT materials primarily in support of long-standing collecting areas: local
imprints, literature, and culture, etc.
Use requirements
Users must have valid UCLA library cards. Library cards may be obtained on
presentation of photo identification. Priority of service is given to researchers
formally affiliated with UCLA or with the UC system. There are fees for telephone
and mail requests by researchers not affiliated with the university.
Comments about
access/use:
No appointment is needed but some materials require 24 hours to retrieve from
off-site storage.
Services
Research space, copying, audiovisual facilities, exhibitions, reference assistance
on site, telephone reference, Internet reference (email/web), and loan agreements
for exhibits.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Manuscripts have card indices until about 1979, with subject and name added
entries, then collection level computer entries. Most manuscript collections
have at least box level descriptions, many have folder level and some item
level descriptions in finding aids. Some finding aids are available on the
web.
Women's
Resource Center
Location: University of California
250 Golden Bear Center
Berkeley, CA 94720-2440
Phone: (510) 642-4786 Fax: (510) 642-9078
Contact: Dorothy Lazard
Internet address: http://www.aad.berkeley.edu/uga/osl/wrc/
Hours: Mon-Thu: 9 am - 5 pm; Fri: 9 am - 12 pm.
Wheelchair Access: yes
History
The Women's Resource Center Library was founded in 1972. Information about
LGBT culture and history has always been a part of the WRC collection; the
Constance Barker Collection includes early lesbian history and literature
and was incorporated into the WRC collection in the 1980s.
Holdings summary
The WRC Library has always maintained information about the GLB community
in its collection. The pamphlet file collection (2 file drawers) covers topical
areas such as the gay movement, gay/lesbian culture, legal and political issues,
parenting, coming out stories, gays in the military, homophobia, employment
issues, etc. These files also contain organizational newsletters and brochures,
newspaper and magazine articles, monographs, bibliographies, and journal articles.
Journals such as Sinister Wisdom, Off Our Backs, and the defunct Outlook are
part of the Periodicals Collection. Historical journals such as The Ladder,
various grassroots women's newspapers of the 1970s, as well as the Constance
Barker Collection (early lesbian histories and literature) are part of the
Reference Collection. Altogether, the printed volumes number over 350.
Use requirements
Anyone may use the collection during business hours.
Services
Research space, copying, reference assistance on site, telephone reference,
and borrowing privileges for individuals.
Other services/notes:
Borrowing privileges of books are reserved only for books and are limited
to Berkeley students, staff and faculty.
Indices, finding aids, collection descriptions
Author/Title and Subject card catalog; pamphlet file index (for searching
topical files); periodicals are listed alphabetically by title.
News about collections
Occasional acquisition lists are compiled and may be picked up at the WRC.
They may be included on our web site in the future.
[Return to Top]