The Society of American Archivists
SAA Logo

Log in / Log out

Join SAA

Contact us

Society of
American Archivists

17 North State Street
Suite 1425
Chicago, IL 60602-3315
tel 312/606-0722
fax 312/606-0728
toll-free 866/722-7858




Carla M. Summers

Gregor Trinkaus-Randall


Geoffrey A. Huth

Donna E. McCrea

Nancy Y. McGovern

Dennis Meissner

Kaye Lanning Minchew

Kate Theimer


María Estorino

Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty

Rosemary Pleva Flynn

Cory Nimer

Arian D. Ravanbakhsh

Mark Shelstad

SAA 2010 Election


Eligible voting members may cast a ballot online March 11 through April 11, 2010. To log in and cast your ballot, please visit

How to Request a Paper Ballot

You may request a paper ballot by calling SAA Headquarters at 1-866-722-7858 or by emailing servicecenter [@] archivists [.] org. A paper ballot will be sent to you via first-class mail, along with complete candidate information.

Paper ballots must be requested by March 31, 2010, and post-marked no later than April 11, 2010.


About the Candidates

Fourteen candidates vying for three different offices are slated on the 2010 ballot of the Society of American Archivists. Eligible voting members of SAA will elect:

  • One Vice President/President-Elect who shall serve a one-year term beginning in August and then become SAA’s 66th president in 2011–2012.
  • Three Council members who shall serve a three-year term beginning in August and running through the SAA Annual Meeting in 2013.
  • Three Nominating Committee members who shall serve one-year terms, which will begin upon election.

The slate of candidates is listed in the left column of this web page. Click on the links to learn more about each candidate. Each candidate has submitted a brief biographical sketch, as well as a response to the below questions posed by this year’s Nominating Committee.

The questions below were posed to the candidates:

  • Vice President/President-Elect: What is your vision for the Society of American Archivists? Describe how you will help SAA achieve this vision, who you will work with, and what specific objectives you feel we must achieve, particularly in terms of the Society’s top three strategic priorities.

  • Council Member: Transparent decision making is vital in representative governance. How would you make the SAA Council’s activities more transparent to the SAA membership?

  • Nominating Committee: How might the Nominating Committee best identify a generation of new leaders from a wide range of backgrounds to move the Society into the more diverse, technological, and interactive 21st century? What strategies and tactics should the Society undertake to cultivate a new generation of leadership?

Voter Eligibility and Access

Please note the following:

  • All individual members, student members, and primary contacts of institutional members who are in good standing on February 28, 2010, will be eligible to vote in the 2010 Election. Members who join on or after March 1, 2010, will be eligible to vote in the 2011 Election.
  • SAA staff will export and upload voter data to the online ballot system during the first week of March. Voters will be able to access their online ballot between March 11 and April 11, 2010, via their SAA username and password as recorded in the SAA database at the time of the data export.
  • Members are strongly encouraged to visit and log in to the SAA website to verify access to the system. If you do not know your login information, you may click on the specified link on that page to retrieve it via email. If you have any difficulty, please call us toll-free at 1-866-722-7858 for further assistance.
  • If you wish to change your username and password for the purposes of the SAA Election, you must do so prior to 5:00 p.m. CST on Saturday, February 28, 2010.

*   *   *

THANK YOU to all candidates for standing for office. Eligible members are urged to exercise their right to vote. Your vote is your voice in your professional association!

Amy Cooper Cary (chair), Terry Baxter, Daniel Santamaria, and
Council members Bruce Ambacher and Diane Vogt-O’Connor